Skip to content

Chris Whitley – Dirt Floor (1998) [DAD to Hi-Res FLAC] 24bit/96kHz

Chris Whitley – Dirt Floor (1998)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 27:22 minutes | 925 MB
DAD to Hi-Res FLAC – Source: Classic Records’ DAD 1010 | Covers

…a rootsy, blues-influenced rock guitarist who spent his career on the margins of mainstream acceptance.

This is the most consistent and accessible disc of Chris Whitley’s off-and-on recording career. The album is just Whitley singing and accompanying himself on banjo, guitar and foot stomp. It has a simple and wonderfully stripped-down sound that fits perfectly with the morose yet tumultuous mood of the songs, establishing a strong atmosphere that is almost as important to the work as the mood in a ’40s film noir. This is an exceedingly short work, only 27+ minutes, yet it really shouldn’t be much longer. If you were expecting Big Sky Country in sound, you will be both happy and disappointed: happy because there is the same stripped-down, nasal singing and story-songs, and disappointed because there is not as much dobro, nor a band helping him flesh out the tunes. He does an excellent job on the small amount of material here, yet it does not develop into anything due to the lack of time; at the same time, the tone is so very angst-ridden that the short length may work in its favor. There are no liner notes or comments for this disc. What is here is excellent in its own right and stands up as some of his best work; I just wonder if maybe another song or two might have made it a stronger work.

01 – Scrapyard Lullaby
02 – Indian Summer
03 – Accordingly
04 – Wild Country
05 – Ball Peen Hammer
06 – From One Island To Another
07 – Altitude
08 – Dirt Floor
09 – Loco Girl

Extract Tool: DVD Audio Extractor.
All files were fully tagged.


%d bloggers like this: