Cheap Trick – All Shook Up (1980/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Cheap Trick – All Shook Up (1980/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 34:15 minutes | 745 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic – Legacy

All Shook Up is a 1980 album by Cheap Trick. It was their fifth studio album and sixth release overall. It was produced by former Beatles producer George Martin. As such, this was the first album since their debut to be produced by someone other than Tom Werman.

Cheap Trick’s first genuinely disappointing album (1979’s Dream Police wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t up to the level of the first four), 1980’s All Shook Up is pretty much a complete botch. Much of the blame belongs to producer George Martin, who, for all his brilliance, was simply a wrongheaded choice for these brash power poppers; his production style simply doesn’t translate. Unfortunately, primary songwriter Rick Nielsen has to shoulder his portion of the blame as well: the band’s sixth album in under four years shows that the guitarist is starting to run out of both hooks and interesting lyrics. Too many songs are based around half-baked braggadocio like “High Priest of Rhythmic Noise” and “World’s Greatest Lover,” without the snarky wit that elevated their earlier albums, and the tunes themselves are substandard boogie deficient in both head-bobbing riffs and singalong choruses. “Baby Loves to Rock” is a glad-handing rocker with a certain resemblance to T. Rex’s classic string of hits, but it’s not enough to save the album. ~~AllMusic Review by Stewart Mason

01. Cheap Trick – Stop This Game (03:56)
02. Cheap Trick – Just Got Back (02:05)
03. Cheap Trick – Baby Loves to Rock (03:17)
04. Cheap Trick – Can’t Stop It But I’m Gonna Try (03:30)
05. Cheap Trick – World’s Greatest Lover (04:52)
06. Cheap Trick – High Priest of Rhythmic Noise (04:12)
07. Cheap Trick – Love Comes a-Tumblin’ Down (03:08)
08. Cheap Trick – I Love You Honey but I Hate Your Friends (03:50)
09. Cheap Trick – Go for the Throat (Use Your Own Imagination) (03:04)
10. Cheap Trick – Who D’King (02:16)

Robin Zander, lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Rick Nielsen, lead guitar, backing vocals
Tom Petersson, bass, backing vocals
Bun E. Carlos, drums, percussion


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: