Skip to content

Charnett Moffett – New Love (2021) [Official Digital Download FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Charnett Moffett – New Love (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 48:47 minutes | 0,99 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Motema

Internationally acclaimed bassist-composer and bandleader Charnett Moffett further refines a virtuosic sound on New Love, his seventh leader release for Motéma Music, and his 17th album to date. An exploratory and vibrant follow-up to his 2018 recording Bright New Day, the album expresses Moffett’s deeply personal permutations of love and an embracing of change as part of life’s progression, as he explains: “Music is a universal language that speaks to all people. In life, human beings are in the constant process of change — whether an individual is conscious of this process or not.”

A melodious conversationalist and reflexive listener, Moffett features the fretless electric bass, often in its upper register, alongside fearless collaborators Jana Herzen on guitar and vocals, Corey Garcia and rising-star Malick Koly on drums and Irwin Hall on tenor and soprano saxophones and alto flute. Interplay among the artists is an album virtue.

“When you’re using the bass as a lead instrument – as a voice, to create melodies – and you have more space, the sound of the instrument can resonate more and be heard in a more complete way for its ‘new’ position,” says Moffett, who pared down the ensemble from quintet to trio and quartet for New Love, leaving out piano.


01. Charnett Moffett – Swinging in the Realms
02. Charnett Moffett – We Remember
03. Charnett Moffett – Little Flowers
04. Charnett Moffett – Today
05. Charnett Moffett – Higher Dimensions
06. Charnett Moffett – I Didn’t Know
07. Charnett Moffett – Flying in the Air
08. Charnett Moffett – ETQ
09. Charnett Moffett – New Love
10. Charnett Moffett – Spirit & Bride Song
11. Charnett Moffett – Love for the People
12. Charnett Moffett – Rejoice


%d bloggers like this: