Skip to content

Charlie Byrd – Delicately (1968/2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Charlie Byrd – Delicately (1968/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 30:14 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Columbia/Legacy

“Delicately” is an aptly-titled recording that captures the artful acoustic stylings of the legendary guitar master Charlie Byrd, one of the greatest jazz guitarists who was a major influence, alongside Stan Getz and others, on the introduction of the “Bossa Nova” craze to the USA. This performance includes Charlie on 5 richly-voiced solo guitar tracks and 6 tracks by a trio which includes Mario Darpino on flute and Charlie’s talented brother Joe Byrd on double bass violin. Playing familiar and some obscure beautiful ballads from Broadway, movies, and TV, this is a recording of very pleasant, beautiful music that stays close to the thematic contours and includes superb performances of the theme songs from “The Fox”, “The Valley of the Dolls”, and “Two for the Road”, as well as “When I Look In Your Eyes” and a very delicate “Sunrise, Sunset”. But best of all are the performances of Glenn Campbell’s highly-acclaimed “By The Time I Get To Phoenix” by Charlie and Mario, and a marvelous, swinging trio presentation of “Soon It’s Gonna Rain” (from “The Fantasticks”). 2 to 4 minute tracks for direct listening or pleasant background music by a master guitarist in his prime. Very Definitely Recommended.

01 – Theme from The Fox
02 – Somewhere, My Love
03 – Theme from Valley Of The Dolls
04 – Try to Remember
05 – Two For The Road
06 – When I Look In Your Eyes
07 – Soon It’s Gonna Rain
08 – Once Upon A Time
09 – By the Time I Get to Phoenix
10 – Sunrise, Sunset
11 – Sunday Mornin’

Produced by Teo Macero.
Engineers: Arthur Kendy, Frank Laico.

Charlie Byrd – guitar
Mario Darpino – flute
Joe Byrd – bass


%d bloggers like this: