Charlie Barnet – Cherokee (Remastered) (1958/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Charlie Barnet – Cherokee (Remastered) (1958/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:33 minutes | 427 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Everest Records

One of Charlie Barent’s later efforts, CHEROKEE proved to be more than fortuitous for this enigmatic musician. Spurning conventional wisdom, he released this set of vintage big band tunes when rock & roll was the rage, and big-band jazz had long since metamorphosed into bebop, cool, and even newer, more avant-garde styles. Barnet’s 1958 band, composed of jazz greats such as trumpeter Clark Terry and pianist Nat Pierce, showed a previously apathetic audience that big band music was not only still viable, but exciting. Heavily influenced by the Basie and Ellington orchestras, Barnet successfully leads a tight, hard-swinging ensemble on this date. Songs such as “East Side, West Side,” “Blue Juice,” and the title track, prove this band’s ability to match the legendary orchestras from the Golden Era of swing. Arguably Barnet’s strongest effort, CHEROKEE is an exhilarating album.

1. Charlie Barnet – Cherokee (06:58)
2. Charlie Barnet – Smiles (02:51)
3. Charlie Barnet – Serenade to May (03:45)
4. Charlie Barnet – Moten Swing (03:19)
5. Charlie Barnet – East Side, West Side (02:48)
6. Charlie Barnet – Charleston Alley (03:06)
7. Charlie Barnet – Blue Juice (03:28)
8. Charlie Barnet – Wild Mab of the Fishpond (03:55)
9. Charlie Barnet – Southern Fried (03:31)
10. Charlie Barnet – Begin the Beguine (02:49)

Charlie Barnet, soprano, alto & tenor saxophones
Charlie Barnet And His Orchestra


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: