Skip to content

Cassandra Wilson – New Moon Daughter (1995/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Cassandra Wilson – New Moon Daughter (1995/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:01:41 minutes | 2,52 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Blue Note Records

New Moon Daughter is one of Cassandra Wilson’s most-beloved albums, released in 1995 on Blue Note. It reached #1 on the Billboard Top Jazz Albums chart in 1996. Critics noted that the New Moon Daughter, although quite similar to Wilson’s previous album (Blue Light ‘Til Dawn), was darker in feeling and had some very striking, intense performances. Notable tracks include Billie Holiday’s “Strange Fruit”, “Skylark”, and “Last Train to Clarksville”.

Singer Cassandra Wilson, who has had a rather diverse career that has ranged from the free funk of M-Base to standards à la Betty Carter, has in recent times adopted a folk-oriented style a little reminiscent of Nina Simone. On New Moon Daughter her repertoire ranges from U2 to Son House, from Hoagy Carmichael to Hank Williams (“I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry”); it is certainly the only album ever that contains both the Monkees’ “Last Train to Clarksville” and “Strange Fruit.” This disc is a surprise best-seller, for Wilson’s voice actually sounds quite bored and emotionally detached. She deserves great credit for stretching herself, but one has to dig deep to find any warmth in her overly cool approach.

01 – Strange Fruit
02 – Love Is Blindness
03 – Solomon Sang
04 – Death Letter
05 – Skylark
06 – Find Him
07 – I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry
08 – Last Train To Clarksville
09 – Until
10 – A Little Warm Death
11 – Memphis
12 – Harvest Moon


%d bloggers like this: