Skip to content

Carly Simon – Hotcakes (1974/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Carly Simon – Hotcakes (1974/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:36 minutes | 823 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Rhino/Elektra

Beatles fans refer to the 1968 album, officially titled The Beatles, as The White Album. But for Carly Simon fans ‘the white album’ is unmistakably, undeniably “Hotcakes”. On the cover, a heavily pregnant Carly glows with happiness in a setting so gleamingly white that it immediately conveys sun-drenched domesticity. Once again, the photographer was Ed Caraeff, but this was not another session on the smart streets of fashionable London. There is nothing jet set here. Instead, Carly is pictured in the kitchen of the New York townhouse she shared with James Taylor, and in the months before the birth of their daughter, Sally.

A glowing, pregnant Carly Simon smiles out from the cover of Hotcakes, one of her biggest selling albums, which featured the gold single “Mockingbird,” a duet with her husband James Taylor that effectively remade the old Inez and Charlie Foxx hit and bested it on the charts. The album also included another hit, “Haven’t Got Time For The Pain,” as well as “Misfit,” in which a wife implores her carousing husband to come home, and “Think I’m Gonna Have A Baby,” which celebrated the joys of same. With such tracks, Hotcakes was an autobiographical concept album that defined domestic bliss at a time when Simon’s listeners also were catching their breath and turning inward.

01 – Safe And Sound
02 – Mind On My Man
03 – Think I’m Gonna Have A Baby
04 – Older Sister
05 – Just Not True
06 – Hotcakes
07 – Misfit
08 – Forever My Love
09 – Mockingbird
10 – Grownup
11 – Haven’t Got Time For The Pain

Produced by Richard Perry. Engineered by Harry Maslin & Bill Schnee.
Recorded in September-November 1973 at Producers Workshop, Los Angeles and The Hit Factory, NYC.
Digitally Remastered.


%d bloggers like this: