Skip to content

Carly Simon – Carly Simon (1971/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Carly Simon – Carly Simon (1971/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:06 minutes | 821 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Rhino/Elektra

Carly Simon had released an obscure folkie record in 1965 and recorded with her sister Lucy as the Simon Sisters, but 1971’s „Carly Simon“ was her official debut. It was also one of the records that helped define the ’70s singer-songwriter genre. Simon had by this time shed many of the overtly folkie aspects of her songwriting and singing style, but her songs remained rooted in simple acoustic piano or guitar-based, folk-influenced styles. The simple, low-key arrangements keep her husky voice and quietly emotive lyrics front and center.

The album kicks off with the minor classic ‘That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard it Should Be,’ which features a character confessing ambivalence about getting married. This and the other nine songs’ rich minor-key melodies and unabashedly personal, emotional lyrics hint at what would be Simon’s stock in trade for the rest of her career. ‘Alone’ and ‘One More Time’ are particular standouts in this style. Though Simon would release more consistent albums (1972’s „No Secrets“, for example), this self-titled maiden voyage was the one that started it all.

01 – That’s The Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be
02 – Alone
03 – One More Time
04 – The Best Thing
05 – Just A Sinner
06 – Dan, My Fling
07 – Another Door
08 – Reunions
09 – Rolling Down The Hills
10 – The Love’s Still Growing

Produced by Eddie Kramer.
Recorded in 1970–1971 at Electric Lady Studios, NYC.
Digitally Remastered.


%d bloggers like this: