Skip to content

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach – Volume 2 – Ophelie Gaillard, Pulcinella Orchestra (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach – Volume 2 – Ophelie Gaillard, Pulcinella Orchestra (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:20:59 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Aparté/Little Tribeca
Recorded: 7, 8, 9 et 10 septembre 2015 à Paris église luthérienne de Bon Secours

After the success of their first volume Ophélie Gaillard and Pulcinella propose a second disc devoted to Johann Sebastian Bach’s most talented and surprising son, Carl Philipp Emanuel (1714-1788). The Sinfonia in C major expresses multiple emotions, ranging from irrepressible suffering in the Adagio to joyous release and insouciance in the concluding Allegretto, tinged with near-Mozartian grace. The Cello Concerto in B flat reveals the influence of the waning Baroque era and Vivaldi in particular. The Sinfonia in E minor, nicknamed ‘Fandango’ and dating from his Berlin years, is commonly regarded as one of his finest symphonies. The particularly virtuosic Sonata for cello piccolo and keyboard shows to advantage the two soloists of this recording: Ophélie Gaillard and Francesco Corti, whose fieriness is further revealed in the Harpsichord Concerto in D minor.


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)

Sinfonia No. 3 in C major, Wq. 182/3 (H. 659)
1. I. Allegro assai 02:23
2. II. Adagio 02:49
3. III. Allegretto 04:35

Cello Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Wq. 171 (H. 436)
4. I. Allegro 07:29
5. II. Adagio 06:40
6. III. Allegro assai 06:18

Sinfonia in E minor, Wq. 178 (H. 653)
7. I. Allegro assai 04:05
8. II. Andante moderato 02:41
9. III. Allegro 03:12

Piccolo Cello Sonata in D major, Wq. 137 (H. 559)
10. I. Adagio, ma non tanto 03:41
11. II. Allegro di molto 09:14
12. III. Arioso 06:21

Harpsichord Concerto in D minor, Wq. 17 (H. 420)
13. I. Allegro 07:32
14. II. Un poco adagio 07:43
15. III. Allegro 06:16

Ophélie Gaillard, cello
Francesco Corti, harpsichord
Pulcinella Orchestra


%d bloggers like this: