Skip to content

Capuana & Rubino – Requiem – Choeur de Chambre de Namur, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Capuana & Rubino – Requiem – Choeur de Chambre de Namur, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:02:57 minutes | 994 MB | Genre: Classical, Choral
Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Ricercar
Recorded: June 2014, Stavelot, church Saint-Sébastien

This album of world premiere recordings of 17th century masses showcases the Namur Chamber Choir and its artistic director, Argentinian conductor Leonardo García Alarcón. The choir champions the musical heritage of its native region while at the same time tackling great works of the choral repertoire. These Requiem Masses by Capuana and Rubino are apparently the only two settings of the Requiem composed in Sicily during the Baroque period. Capuana’s work is imbued with the intense emotion of the madrigal school while the Rubino is a true glorification of Renaissance polyphony.

“Captivating, quality stuff…Chœur de Chambre de Namur, backed by a terrific continuo group, are definitely enjoying themselves, so why shouldn’t we?” –Choir & Organ, May 2015

“colourful, dramatic, touching and full of contrast. The choir sings sturdily, with ample solo talent for Rubino’s slightly more adventurous work. Leonardo Garcia Alarcon paces both performances intelligently.” –Sunday Times, 22nd February 2015

“Capuano tends towards the style of the dramatic madrigal and Rubino makes greater use of polyphony, imitation and occasionally charming soprano solo passages…Neither mass is in the top rank, but the stylish Namur singers make a convincing case for their revival.” –The Observer, 8th February 2015


Mario Capuana (?-1646/47)
Messa di defonti a quattro voci
1. Introitus 03:55
2. Kyrie 02:51
3. Graduale 01:52
4. Sequentia 12:02
5. Offertorium 02:35
6. Sanctus 00:57
7. Agnus Dei 02:29
8. Communio 01:28

Bonaventura Rubino (1600-1668)
Messa di morti a 5 concertata
9. Introitus 03:48
10. Kyrie 02:10
11. Sequentia 11:34
12. Offertorium 04:41
13. Sanctus 02:07
14. Agnus Dei 02:25
15. Communio 02:44
16. Responsorium 05:27

Sara Bino, Elke Janssens, Lucia Martin Carton, Mariana Moldao, Caroline Weynants: sopranos I
Laura Cartier, Marine Chaboud, Diana Gouglina, Florence Grasset, Maria Nunez de Fatima: sopranos II
Elena Pozhidaeva, Ariana Vafadari: altos
Jean-Sébastien Beauvais, Josquin Gest, Leandro Marziotte: counter-tenors
Eric François, Th ibaut Lenaerts, Riccardo Pisani, Frederico Projecto, Jean-Yves Ravoux: tenors
Jean Delobel, Philippe Favette, Alejandro Gabor, Sergio Ladu, Jean-Marie Marchal, Tiago Mota: basses
Giulia Genini: bassoon
Maximilian Ehrhardt: harp
Pierre-Louis Retat: positive organ
Leonardo García Alarcón: direction


%d bloggers like this: