Skip to content

Cal Tjader – Sounds Out Burt Bacharach (Remastered) (1968/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Cal Tjader – Sounds Out Burt Bacharach (Remastered) (1968/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 32:07 minutes |  324 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Skye Records

Fantastic – and about as great as you’d imagine! The cool Latiny vibes of Cal Tjader meet the great compositions of Burt Bacharach, and the result is a shimmering set of tracks that forever defines the sound of groovy 60s! While the idea of vibraphonist Cal Tjader playing a set of Burt Bacharach tunes has very little potential in the first place, a disappointingly low level of achievement is reached on this rather sad set. Clearly recorded due to the influence of the commercial success of Wes Montgomery’s A&M recordings, this date, originally made for Skye, is quite a dud. Tjader plays well in spots but the material, and particularly the arrangements of Gary McFarland, Mike Abene and Alan Foust are so insipid as to make the vibist sound silly. Not only is Latin jazz absent from the set, but so is the spirit of jazz altogether. Even at the time, this weak pop music which includes inferior versions of such numbers as “What the World Needs Now Is Love,” “I Say a Little Prayer” and “Walk On By” must have sounded instantly dated.

01. Moneypenny Goes for Broke
02. What the World Needs Now Is Love
03. Anyone Who Had a Heart
04. Don’t Make Me Over
05. A Message to Michael
06. My Little Red Book
07. I Say a Little Prayer
08. Walk on By
09. You’ll Never Get to Heaven (If You Break My Heart)


%d bloggers like this: