Butch Miles Sextet – Butch Miles Salutes Gene Krupa (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 16, 2022)

Butch Miles Sextet – Butch Miles Salutes Gene Krupa (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:11 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Progressive

I had a ball doing this album with Butch. Roy Eldridge was the jazz trumpet star in the Krupa band and we did some of his famous tunes like “After You’ve Gone” on this album. When I was working at Eddie Condon’s Jazz Club on 52nd street where I recorded my first live album I got to hang with Roy and play with him. Roy was working at Jimmy Ryans up the street and we used to check each other out during our breaks. Those days were truly a taste of the glory years of 52nd street in the 40s! (Glenn Zottola)

“Butch Miles pays tribute to the influential swing drummer Gene Krupa by performing five songs associated with his big band, including “After You’ve Gone” and “Drum Boogie,” plus his own “Samba Rioja (From Butch to Gene).” Tenor saxophonist Jorge Anders provided the arrangements and participates in the sextet along with the drummer/leader, trumpeter Glenn Zottola, trombonist George Masso, pianist John Bunch and bassist Phil Flanigan. Miles puts spirit into his vocal on “Boogie Blues”; Zottola recalls Roy Eldridge on “After You’ve Gone”; and Anders is fine on his ballad feature “More Than You Know.” (Scott Yanow; AMG)

1. Butch Miles Sextet – After You’ve Gone (06:06)
2. Butch Miles Sextet – Boogie Blues (06:45)
3. Butch Miles Sextet – Up And Atom (06:20)
4. Butch Miles Sextet – Samba Rioja (06:55)
5. Butch Miles Sextet – More Than You Know (06:30)
6. Butch Miles Sextet – Drum Boogie (06:04)
7. Butch Miles Sextet – Samba Rioja (Alt) (10:45)
8. Butch Miles Sextet – Leave Us Leap (07:44)




%d bloggers like this: