Buddy & Julie Miller – Breakdown On 20th Ave. South (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 16, 2022)

Buddy & Julie Miller – Breakdown On 20th Ave. South (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:31 minutes | 558 MB | Genre: Country, Folk, Americana
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © New West Records

Mr & Mrs Miller might have been married since 1981, but believe it or not, Breakdown on 20th Ave. South is only their fourth album together, and the first in a span of ten years since the excellent Written in Chalk was released. That in itself is a shame – up to this point, the labors of love between the two alternative country stars have been brilliantly classical; beautiful, uncompromising and upfront. To be frank, a yearly dose would do no one harm. Buddy and Julie Miller are thick as thieves, which is nothing new really, but the honesty in their relationship is overwhelming. They sing about broken hearts, love lost to time, about “the old days”, sickness, death and hope. And above all, their voices: there is magic in the way their voices meld together, from Julie’s elf-like, Rickie Lee Jones warble, to her husband’s ever-gritty rasp. Porcelain and oak, yin and yang with the power to silence entire crowds. Then there’s the instrumentation itself: a fine wine for any Americana connoisseur. Buddy might be a freak guitarist, venerated by the likes of Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle and Lucinda Williams, but he also knows when – and how – to hold back. “What Julie and I create together satisfies me like nothing else in the world, and I should have given more time to that” he says. Julie’s health problems (Fibromyalgia, a form of severe joint and muscle pain) and the ever-looming fear of losing a loved one brought him down to earth, as she explains: “I took too much time to express my feelings. It was as if I was waiting for my turn. I know he feels guilty about it. I was sick and depressed which made everything complicated. Once he knew how I was feeling, he became incredibly kind and really focused to help me create what I wanted.” Recorded in the bedroom above their home studio in Nashville, Breakdown on 20th Ave. South (the address of the place itself) is that gut-wrenching, hold-on-to-your-hats kind of moment. Appalachian folk intertwined with sepia-tone honky tonk, melancholy rock’n’roll and bare-bones country music. Breakdown, thy name is candour and power. – Marc Zisman

1. Buddy & Julie Miller – Breakdown On 20th Ave. South (03:54)
2. Buddy & Julie Miller – Feast Of The Dead (03:59)
3. Buddy & Julie Miller – Everything Is Your Fault (03:14)
4. Buddy & Julie Miller – Unused Heart (02:43)
5. Buddy & Julie Miller – I’m Gonna Make You Love Me (04:47)
6. Buddy & Julie Miller – Till The Stardust Comes Apart (02:13)
7. Buddy & Julie Miller – Underneath The Sky (05:10)
8. Buddy & Julie Miller – Spittin’ On Fire (03:05)
9. Buddy & Julie Miller – Secret (03:12)
10. Buddy & Julie Miller – War Child (04:13)
11. Buddy & Julie Miller – Thoughts At 2am (03:36)
12. Buddy & Julie Miller – Storm Of Kisses (03:07)
13. Buddy & Julie Miller – Can’t Cry Hard Enough (03:42)
14. Buddy & Julie Miller – You Make My Heart Beat Too Fast (03:28)




%d bloggers like this: