Skip to content

Bruce Liu – Winner of the 18th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2021 (Live) (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Bruce Liu – Winner of the 18th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2021 (Live) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:04:37 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Deutsche Grammophon is set to release recordings made live during the various stages of the 18th International Chopin Piano Competition by Bruce Liu, the newly crowned winner of the world’s most prestigious competition for classical musicians. The jury awarded the top prize to the 24-year-old Canadian pianist last night, immediately after the final round at Warsaw’s National Philharmonic, and his album is already in preparation.

The release of these live recordings by Bruce Liu marks a renewed collaboration between Deutsche Grammophon and the Fryderyk Chopin Institute. The label and the Chopin Institute, organisers and hosts of the Chopin Competition since 2010, are jointly committed to promoting the work of exceptional interpreters of Chopin’s music.

“We’re delighted to partner with the Chopin Institute once again and to celebrate one of the classical world’s rising stars,” comments Dr Clemens Trautmann, President Deutsche Grammophon. “Music-lovers around the world have been captivated by each stage of this year’s International Chopin Piano Competition. I know that everyone will join us in congratulating Bruce Liu for his revelatory interpretations during the last few weeks. The powerful emotions and extraordinary beauty of Chopin’s art speak deeply to young musicians, which is why we believe it is so important to share these recordings from the Chopin Competition.”

Born in 1997, a disciple of Dang Thai Son in particular, Bruce Liu won the 2021 Warsaw Chopin Competition, the “proofs” of which were published a few weeks later, as for each edition, by Deutsche Grammophon, which has long since developed a partnership with this prestigious Polish institution. A beautiful and generous sound, a refined and fluid playing, often striking in its elegance, easily distinguish the twenty-four year old Franco-Canadian laureate: the Mazurkas and the few studies particularly seduce by their probity. We are now waiting for a real phonographic project, in which Bruce Liu will be able to really immerse himself, without the usual anxiety and pressure of the big international competitions. The sound recording on this work is more distant than on the competition videos. – Pierre-Yves Lascar

1. Bruce Liu – I. Andante spianato. Tranquillo (Live)
2. Bruce Liu – II. Polonaise. Allegro molto (Live)
3. Bruce Liu – No. 1 in G Sharp Minor (Live)
4. Bruce Liu – No. 2 in C Major (Live)
5. Bruce Liu – No. 3 in D Major (Live)
6. Bruce Liu – No. 4 in B Minor (Live)
7. Bruce Liu – No. 4 in C Sharp Minor “Torrent” (Live)
8. Bruce Liu – No. 4 in A Minor “Paganini” (Live)
9. Bruce Liu – No. 1 in C Sharp Minor. Larghetto (Live)
10. Bruce Liu – Chopin: Waltz in A Flat Major, Op. 42 (Live)
11. Bruce Liu – Chopin: Scherzo No. 4 in E Major, Op. 54 (Live)
12. Bruce Liu – Introduzione. Largo – Poco più mosso (Live)
13. Bruce Liu – Tema. Allegretto (Live)
14. Bruce Liu – Var. I. Brillante (Live)
15. Bruce Liu – Var. II. Veloce, ma accuratamente (Live)
16. Bruce Liu – Var. III. Sempre sostenuto (Live)
17. Bruce Liu – Var. IV. Con bravura (Live)
18. Bruce Liu – Var. V. Adagio (Live)
19. Bruce Liu – Coda. Alla Polacca (Live)


%d bloggers like this: