Skip to content

Brad Paisley – Mud On The Tires (2003) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Brad Paisley – Mud On The Tires (2003)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:03:12 minutes | 1,22 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Arista Nashville

Mud on the Tires is the third studio album by American country music artist Brad Paisley. Released in 2003 on Arista Nashville, it produced four hit singles on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks (now Hot Country Songs) charts: the Top Five hits “Celebrity”, “Little Moments” and “Whiskey Lullaby”, as well as the Number One title track. The album itself has been certified 2× Platinum by the RIAA, while “Whiskey Lullaby” and the title-track have been certified as gold singles.

Ever since 1999, Brad Paisley has been touted by some critics and fans as new traditionalist country’s great hope. Blessed with good looks, good taste, and a nice twang in his voice, Paisley could have gone pure country-pop but decided to stick fairly close to his roots and play a nice amalgam of honky tonk, Western swing, and pop. It was straight out of the George Strait handbook, but it was nicely done on his first two records, particularly compared to a crop of new artists who seemed anxious to gun for the big hit. Paisley never seemed that desperate for chart success; he took it easy, so any sales seemed to be the side effect of his easygoing charm. That, along with his exceptional taste, garnered critical favor and a nice, dedicated base of fans, but his third album, 2003’s Mud on the Tires, is where some cracks in the facade are revealed. It’s not that it’s a bad album, because it isn’t. Far from it, actually — it’s a really good record, boasting a set of songs that are arguably his most consistent and illustrating Paisley’s capable grasp on a wide variety of styles and sounds, from honky tonk and Western swing to plaintive bluegrass, country-folk, and even country-pop novelties. These are all the things that have made Paisley such a hot commodity among those listeners who prize traditionalism in country music (which, let’s face it, most country fans do). With his crackerjack band, featuring guitarist Redd Volkaert and bassist Kevin “Swine” Grantt, he sounds good, reverent, and muscular, recalling classic country in a way that will be appealing to most listeners, whether they prefer George Jones or George Strait. No, the cracks in the facade do not lie in the sound of the music — it’s in the feel and flavor of the music. Brad Paisley suffers from a near-terminal cutesiness that undercuts his music, making even good moments seem a little affected. And this cutesiness just flows from every other song on the record. There’s the hit single “Celebrity,” where he “skewers” celebrity hijinks in a way that suggests nothing but the “wacky” video that’s sure to accompany it. There’s “Ain’t Nothin’ Like,” a paean to simple pleasures boasting one of the shrillest kid’s chorus ever committed to tape. Then, there’s “Spaghetti Western Swing,” primarily a showcase for Volkaert, but burdened with an awful mock radio play written by Paisley and performed by George Jones, Little Jimmy Dickens, and Bill Anderson. There are the homespun “truths” on “That’s Love” (as in, “That ain’t a lie/That’s love”) that operate on the same level as Tracy Byrd’s “The Truth About Men,” only without the conviction to be truly silly. The Byrd comparison is a good one — Paisley has more musical muscle and a better band than Byrd, but he lacks the spirit; he seems to be putting on a show, and that affectation keeps his music from digging as deep as it should. On the surface, Mud on the Tires is a fine, satisfying listen, but to truly live up to the mantle that’s been bestowed upon him, Paisley had better start adding substance to his admittedly fetching style. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Mud on the Tires
02. Celebrity
03. Ain’t Nothin’ Like
04. Little Moments
05. That’s Love
06. Somebody Knows You Now
07. Famous People
08. Hold Me In Your Arms (And Let Me Fall)
09. Whiskey Lullaby (Featuring Alison Krauss)
10. The Best Thing That I Had Goin’
11. The Cigar Song
12. Make a Mistake
13. Make a Mistake with Me (Instrumental)
14. Is It Raining at Your House
15. Spaghetti Western Swing (Featuring Redd Volkaert)
16. Farther Along
17. Kung Pao (Hidden Track)


%d bloggers like this: