Skip to content

Boz Scaggs – Out of the Blues (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Boz Scaggs – Out of the Blues (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:28 minutes | 808 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Concord Records

The self-produced Out Of The Blues finds national treasure Boz Scaggs applying his iconic voice and gritty guitar skills to a set of vintage classics as well as four originals. For the occasion, the legendary singer/songwriter/guitarist assembled a star-studded studio band including such prestigious players as guitarists Doyle Bramhall II, Ray Parker Jr. and Charlie Sexton, bassist Willie Weeks, drummer Jim Keltner and keyboardist Jim Cox, as well as longtime friend Jack Walroth on guitar, harmonica and percussion.

After Memphis in 2013 and A Fool To Care in 2015, Boz Scaggs concludes his trilogy on American roots music with Out of the Blues. Properly charged with southern blues and soul, here is a preview of the music that has inspired him throughout his career. With − at his side − talents such as Ray Parker, Jr. and Arc Angels’ leaders, Charlie Sexton and Doyle Bramhall II, as well as Willie Weeks (bass), Jim Keltner (drums) and Jim Cox (keyboards). Ideal conditions to bring old blues back to life… Over the nine tracks, four were composed by Jack ‘Applejack’ Walroth, Scaggs’ former teammate, most notably on Memphis. For the rest, the album features Don Robey’s I’ve Just Got To Forget You, Neil Young’s On The Beach, and Jimmy Read’s Down In Virginia. Boz Scaggs seems to be particularly at ease when it comes to soak in an entire era. Sixties soul is indeed a part of Those Lies, but quite modern at the same time. Some noticeable similarities with James Hunter at times, but the American singer sets himself apart thanks to his unique voice, cementing his status as a bluesman. Gritty guitars and muddy blues, the harmonica riffs unwearyingly travel back and forth America.  – Clara Bismuth

1. Rock and Stick (04:50)
2. I’ve Just Got To Forget You (02:57)
3. I’ve Just Got To Know (04:10)
4. Radiator 110 (04:08)
5. Little Miss Night and Day (05:20)
6. On the Beach (06:33)
7. Down In Virginia (03:24)
8. Those Lies (04:31)
9. The Feeling Is Gone (03:35)


%d bloggers like this: