Skip to content

Bonnie Tyler – The Best Is Yet to Come (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Bonnie Tyler – The Best Is Yet to Come (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 44:39 minutes | 583 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © earMUSIC

The Best Is Yet to Come is the upcoming eighteenth studio album by Welsh singer Bonnie Tyler. It is scheduled to be released on 26 February 2021.

The Best Is Yet to Come adopts the sound of 80s pop rock. Tyler told Ultimate Classic Rock she felt “When the Lights Go Down” had a similar sound to the music of Bruce Springsteen and Rod Stewart.

The album contains four cover songs; “Somebody’s Hero” by C.B. Green, “I’m Only Guilty (Of Loving You)” previously recorded by Chick Willis and Tab Benoit, “I’m Not in Love” by 10cc, and “Catch the Wind” by Donovan. The latter two songs had originally been intended as bonus tracks on Tyler’s previous album, Between the Earth and the Stars.

With The Best Is Yet To Come, Bonnie Tyler is playing off the 80s revival, in terms of the cover that takes up the flashy colour-schemes of the surf brands of that era; the font that recalls Michael Jackson’s Thriller; or the music, whose production values oscillate between 1983 and 1987. And above all, the Brit can always count on her instantly-recognisable gravelly voice, which, despite her 69 years, has not shifted an octave… In this musical version of Back to the Future, Bonnie is joined by David Mackay who oversaw the production of her first two albums, The World Starts Tonight in 1977 and Natural Force in 1978 which included her first big hit: It’s A Heartache. He also produced the 2019 album, Between The Earth And The Stars. Bonnie Tyler is buried somewhere deep within the English collective unconscious, like Cliff Richard. These twelve tracks follow one another like escapees from some compilation. And, considering the retro genre, they are well-made. The title track, The Best Is Yet To Come, is a pretty seductive synth-wave gem, and Dreams Are Not Enough is reminiscent of Bon Jovi’s You Give Love A Bad Name which dates from… 1986. Bonnie also indulges in the art of reinterpretation with no less than four cover versions including the classic I’m Not in Love by 10cc and Catch the Wind by Donovan. This nostalgic album is firmly rooted in the present. – Yan Céh

1. The Best is yet to Come (03:03)
2. Dreams Are Not Enough (03:31)
3. Hungry Hearts (03:12)
4. Stuck to My Guns (03:49)
5. When the Lights Go Down (03:29)
6. Stronger Than a Man (03:31)
7. I’m Not in Love (04:24)
8. Somebody’s Hero (04:00)
9. Call Me Thunder (04:38)
10. I’m Only Guilty (Of Loving You) (03:44)
11. You’re the One (04:04)
12. Catch the Wind (03:14)


%d bloggers like this: