Skip to content

Bob James, Nathan East – The New Cool (2015) [Official Digital Edition 24bit/48kHz]

Bob James, Nathan East – The New Cool (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48kHz | Time – 53:28 minutes | 563 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks |  @ Yamaha Entertainment Group

The New Cool from contemporary jazz icons (and fellow members of super-group Fourplay) Bob James and Nathan East. ‘The New Cool’ centers on jazz piano and bass duets as the vehicle for a diverse collection of original compositions and handpicked classics.  Recorded entirely in Nashville it reveals James and East in a way that you have never heard them before.

Watch HDtracks’ interview with Bob James below:

“The peerless musicianship of James and East is as evident as ever, but there’s a less studied, more organic feel to the music. Tracks range from minimalist, bluesy duets to lushly appointed, orchestrated entries like ‘Waltz for Judy.’ Most of the dynamics stem from the intuitive interplay between James and East, who seem more than content to steer clear of more measured, mainstream arrangements. One especially satisfying surprise is the alternately playful and opulent take on the Willie Nelson-penned standard ‘Crazy.’ Sung with raw emotion by country star Vince Gill, it serves as a platform for some of James’ sharpest piano work. These jazz masters serve up a wholly rewarding and intimate set that’s at once new and very cool.” –Jeff Tamarkin, M Music & Musicians

1. The New Cool 07:08
2. Oliver’s Bag 05:06
3. All Will Be Revealed 04:30
4. Midnight Magic/Love Me As Though There Were No Tomorrow 05:13
5. Crazy (feat. Vince Gill) 05:02
6. How Deep Is The Ocean 04:34
7. Canto Y La Danza 05:04
8. Waltz For Judy 03:25
9. Seattle Sunrise 04:09
10. Ghost Of A Chance 05:22
11. Turbulence 03:51

Bob James – piano, keyboards, arranger, conductor
Nathan East – bass guitar, double bass
Nashville Recording Orchestra – orchestral backing



%d bloggers like this: