Skip to content

Bob Cooper – Coop! The Music Of Bob Cooper (1958/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Bob Cooper – Coop! The Music Of Bob Cooper (1958/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 44:36 minutes | 827 Mb | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Tenor saxophonist Bob Cooper’s only Contemporary album is a near-classic and one of his finest recordings. Cooper, along with trombonist Frank Rosolino, vibraphonist Victor Feldman, pianist Lou Levy, bassist Max Bennett, and drummer Mel Lewis, performs colorful versions of five standards (best are “Confirmation,” “Easy Living,” and “Somebody Loves Me”) that show off his attractive tone and ability to swing at any tempo. Half of the release consists of his “Jazz Theme and Four Variations,” a very interesting work that holds together quite well throughout 23-and-a-half minutes and five movements. Three trumpeters (including Conte Candoli) and one trombone are added to make the ensembles richer. This set is an underrated gem. – Scott Yanow

01 – Jazz Theme And Four Variations – Main Theme Sunday Mood (00:04:00)
02 – 1st Variation A Blue Period (00:04:06)
03 – 2nd Variation Happy Changes (00:03:59)
04 – 3rd Variation Night Stroll (00:06:34)
05 – 4th Variation Saturday Dance (00:04:40)
06 – Confirmation (00:04:18)
07 – Easy Living (00:04:19)
08 – Frankie & Johnny (00:05:51)
09 – Day Dream (00:03:25)
10 – Somebody Loves Me (00:03:20)



%d bloggers like this: