Blythe Gaissert – Home (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 8, 2022)

Blythe Gaissert – Home (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:49 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Bright Shiny Things

HOME by acclaimed mezzo-soprano Blythe Gaissert is a collection of new works written for the artist from eight composers and librettists representing diverse backgrounds and musical styles.

The album consists of eight world premiere recordings which reflect on the broader social implications of “home,” including dislocation, immigration, love and mourning, all written expressly written for Ms. Gaissert by Ricky Ian Gordon, John Glover, Martin Hennessy, David T. Little, Laura Kaminsky, Mikael Karlsson, Rene Orth, and Kamala Sankaram. The opening track features lyrics by Pulitzer Prize winning librettist Royce Vavrek. The collaborative musicians on the album include Grammy®-winning & Grammy®-nominated musicians from the Attacca Quartet, Aizuri Quartet, Sybarite5, & Imani winds. At the helm is 11 time Grammy award winning producer of the year, Judith Sherman.

“In the past year, as I was deciding about what sort of artistic statement I wanted to make with my debut album, the idea of how important having a safe, warm and loving place to live played a prominent place in my life. When we were getting ready to move, I found myself having long conversations with my 7 year old about what “home” is. I told him that it isn’t just the place, but the love of the people inside the home, as well as the feeling of the community outside the home. At the same time, we started having all of these horrific stories from the border about people trying to find a safe place to live being separated from their families, children isolated from parents. All this after so many thousands of years of people being exiled from their homes and creating new ones……it started with me and rippled outwards and became obvious this is what I wanted to use as a theme. When I approached the composers, this resonated with them as well, both personally and in a larger social sense.” (Blythe Gaissert)

01. Blythe Gaissert – Archaeology (04:55)
02. Blythe Gaissert – Songs from Exile: I. Dian Di (04:25)
03. Blythe Gaissert – Songs from Exile: II. Distant Dreams (02:52)
04. Blythe Gaissert – Nous Deux (06:54)
05. Blythe Gaissert – Carne Barata (07:17)
06. Blythe Gaissert – Home Is Where I Take My Shoes Off (04:58)
07. Blythe Gaissert – ramonanewyorkamsterdam (05:02)
08. Blythe Gaissert – Jerry Hammer (06:23)
09. Blythe Gaissert – Bungalow, Pt. 1 (08:43)
10. Blythe Gaissert – Bungalow, Pt. 2 (05:18)


%d bloggers like this: