Skip to content

Blue Öyster Cult – Club Ninja (1985/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Blue Öyster Cult – Club Ninja (1985/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:19 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Columbia/Legacy

Club Ninja is the tenth studio album by the American hard rock group Blue Öyster Cult, released in December 10, 1985 (see 1985 in music). The album was intended as a comeback for the band, whose previous album The Revölution by Night failed to attain Gold status following the success of 1981’s Fire of Unknown Origin and 1982’s Extraterrestrial Live. Club Ninja sold more than 175,000 copies, falling well short of gold status again, and because of its high cost, Columbia Records executives deemed it a commercial failure.[1] The album was re-issued on compact disc on March 10, 2009, by the Sony-owned reissue label American Beat Records, who had also reissued the band’s subsequent 1988 album, Imaginos.

Blue Öyster Cult’s gradual disintegration continued with Club Ninja, on which original member Allen Lanier was replaced by keyboard player Tom Zvoncheck, and several compositions from outside the band were featured, notably the Leggat Brothers’ “White Flags,” and a couple of generic metal exercises by Bob Halligan, who had contributed much the same sort of material to Judas Priest. On what should have been the positive side, Sandy Pearlman was back in the producer’s chair. But he did nothing to arrest BÖC’s decline into musical anonymity. ~~ AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann


1 White Flags 4:41
2 Dancin’ In The Ruins 3:58
3 Rock Not War 3:56
4 Perfect Water 5:28
5 Spy In The House Of The Night 4:19
6 Beat’ Em Up 3:22
7 When The War Comes 6:01
8 Shadow Warrior 5:39
9 Madness To The Method 7:25

Eric Bloom – stun guitar, vocals
Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser – lead guitar, keyboards, vocals
Joe Bouchard – bass, guitar, vocals
Tommy Zvoncheck – synthesizers, piano, organ
Jimmy Wilcox – percussion, vocals

Additional musicians
Thommy Price – drums
Phil Grande – guitars
Kenny Aaronson – bass
David Lucas, Joni Peltz, Dave Immer, Joe Caro – background vocals
Howard Stern – opening to “When the War Comes”


%d bloggers like this: