Blue Moods – Myth & Wisdom (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Blue Moods - Myth & Wisdom (2022) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz] Download

Blue Moods – Myth & Wisdom (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:00:34 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Posi-Tone Records

The moods here are anything but blue – as the group’s got an upbeat, positive way of laying into a tune right from the start – as they take on a range of compositions by Charles Mingus, but all served up in a lean quartet formation that really helps transform the songs! Diego Rivera is often in the lead on tenor, and the rest of the group features Boris Kozlov on bass, Joe Strasser on drums, and Art Hirihara on piano – save for a few tracks where David Kikoski comes in on the keys! If you dig Mingus as much as us, you’ll recognize most of the melodies – but the treatment is nicely fresh, and also not nearly as slavish as some other Mingus-related projects – really breathing new life into songs that include “Reincarnation Of A Lovebird”, “Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress”, “Nostalgia In Times Square”, “Tonight At Noon”, “Better Get It In Your Soul”, and “Pithecathropus Erectus”.


01. Blue Moods – Better Get It In Your Soul (04:52)
02. Blue Moods – Nostalgia In Times Square (05:07)
03. Blue Moods – Tonight At Noon (04:31)
04. Blue Moods – Duke Ellington’s Sound Of Love (05:50)
05. Blue Moods – Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Silk Blue (07:15)
06. Blue Moods – Peggy’s Blue Skylight (05:06)
07. Blue Moods – Pussy Cat Dues (05:38)
08. Blue Moods – Pithycanthropus Erectus (07:53)
09. Blue Moods – Portrait (06:26)
10. Blue Moods – Reincarnation Of A Lovebird (07:52)


%d bloggers like this: