Billy Joel – Greatest Hits Vol. III (1997/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 5, 2022)

Billy Joel – Greatest Hits Vol. III (1997/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:16:12 minutes | 1,62 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia Records

Perhaps it was inevitable that Billy Joel’s Greatest Hits, Vol. 3 would pale next to its double-disc predecessor. Greatest Hits, Vols. 1 & 2 covered nine albums (it ignored Cold Spring Harbor), a period during which Joel had 26 Top 100 hits. If it had picked up where the first collection left off, Vol. 3 would have covered three studio albums, which produced 11 hits. That alone would have made a respectable hits collection, and it would have made sense, since The Bridge marked the beginning of a new phase of Joel’s career. Instead, the 17-song Vol. 3 begins with a pair of songs from An Innocent Man (“Keeping the Faith,” “An Innocent Man”) that sound entirely different from the material that follows, which finds Joel delving into mechanized, slickly produced adult contemporary pop. The remaining songs don’t strictly adhere to his charting hits, substituting such album tracks as “Leningrad,” “Shameless” and “Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)” for hits like “Modern Woman,” “That’s Not Her Style” and his non-LP cover of Elvis’ “All Shook Up.” Even with those missing hits, Greatest Hits, Vol. 3 does summarize Joel’s latter career quite well, culling most of his best songs from the time. However, the album ends on a down note, as it adds three new songs, all covers, that are limply produced and colorlessly played. Bob Dylan’s “To Make You Feel My Love” — which Joel decided to perform as if it was a slow, sanitized Blonde on Blonde outtake — is the best of the trio, but none of them qualify as Joel classics, and they are an inauspicious way to end this chapter of his career. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Billy Joel – Keeping the Faith (04:39)
02. Billy Joel – An Innocent Man (05:18)
03. Billy Joel – A Matter of Trust (04:12)
04. Billy Joel – Baby Grand (Duet with Ray Charles) (04:04)
05. Billy Joel – This Is the Time (05:01)
06. Billy Joel – Leningrad (04:06)
07. Billy Joel – We Didn’t Start the Fire (04:51)
08. Billy Joel – I Go to Extremes (04:23)
09. Billy Joel – And so It Goes (03:40)
10. Billy Joel – The Downeaster Alexa (03:45)
11. Billy Joel – Shameless (04:29)
12. Billy Joel – All About Soul (Remix) (05:59)
13. Billy Joel – Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel) (03:33)
14. Billy Joel – The River of Dreams (04:05)
15. Billy Joel – To Make You Feel My Love (03:51)
16. Billy Joel – Hey Girl (03:55)
17. Billy Joel – Light As the Breeze (06:12)

Billy Joel: keyboards, acoustic piano, Hammond B-3, Fender Rhodes, synthesizers, clavinet, accordion, harpsichord, harmonica, lead and backing vocals
Bob Bailey, Kim Fleming, Yvonne Hodges, Donna McElroy, Chris Rodriguez, Trisha Yearwood, Alex Brown, Jackie Gouche, Monalisa Young, Wrecia Ford, Marion Saunders, B. David Whitworth, Frank and George Simms, Patty Darcy, Frank Floyd, Mick Jones, Joe Lynn Turner, Ian Lloyd, Chuck Arnold (and members of the Hicksville High School Chorus): background vocals
David Brown, Russell Javors, Dean Parks, Joey Hunting, Mike Tyler, Danny Kortchmar, Tommy Byrnes, Phillip Nowlam, Bob Mann, Dann Huff, Mac McAnally: guitars
Paul Franklin: pedal steel (“Light as the Breeze”)
Matt Rollings, Ray Charles: acoustic piano
Steve Nathan: organ
Robbie Kondor, Randy Waldman: keyboards
John Mahoney: keyboards, keyboard programming
Kevin Jones: keyboard programming
Jeff Jacobs, Jeff Bova: synthesizers
Doug Stegmeyer, Neil Stubenhaus, Schuyler Deale, T. M. Stevens, Chuck Treece, Jeff Lee Johnson, Will Lee, Willie Weeks, Randy D. Jackson: bass guitar
Liberty DeVitto, Vinnie Colaiuta, Zachary Alford, Shawn Pelton: drums
Crystal Taliefero: percussion, backing vocals
Mark Rivera: percussion, alto and tenor saxophones
Michael Brecker: tenor sax
Ronnie Cutler: baritone sax


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: