Billie Holiday – A Recital By Billie Holiday (1956/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 4, 2022)

Billie Holiday – A Recital By Billie Holiday (1956/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 37:02 minutes | 1,49 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

This compilation, gathered from recordings of her New York sessions in 1954, is an excellent sampler of the skills and charms of Lady Day. While the disc may appear to be just another throw-together of Holiday hits, with nothing in particular to distinguish it from the others, the arrangements, the performances and the recordings themselves are all wonderful. Backed by tight, laid-back session musicians (Oscar Peterson plays piano on many of the tracks–check out his solo on “Lover, Come Back to Me”), Holiday here enjoys the last full flush of her talents before health and substance abuse problems claimed her voice in the late ’50s.

In tracks like “He’s Funny That Way” and “Softly,” her raspy voice plays over melodies, caressing them, trailing off the end of phrases for emotional punctuation. Her tone is at once rich and wispy, managing simultaneously to convey vulnerability, despair, strength and sexuality. From the up-tempo swing of “Too Marvelous for Words” to the piano/vocal duo “I Thought About You, Recital is full of gems and a perfect album to put on at 3:00 in the morning.

01. Billie Holiday – If The Moon Turns Green (02:48)
02. Billie Holiday – Remember (02:36)
03. Billie Holiday – Autumn In New York (03:44)
04. Billie Holiday – My Man (02:37)
05. Billie Holiday – Lover, Come Back To Me (03:34)
06. Billie Holiday – Stormy Weather (03:42)
07. Billie Holiday – Yesterdays (02:50)
08. Billie Holiday – He’s Funny That Way (03:11)
09. Billie Holiday – I Can’t Face The Music (03:14)
10. Billie Holiday – How Deep Is The Ocean? (02:59)
11. Billie Holiday – What A Little Moonlight Can Do (03:13)
12. Billie Holiday – I Cried For You (02:26)

Bass – Ray Brown
Drums – Ed Shaughnessy (#10-12), Gus Johnson (#4-9), James Charles Heard (#1-3)
Guitar – Barney Kessel (#1-3), Freddie Green (#4-9), Herb Ellis (#10-12)
Organ – Oscar Peterson (#7)
Piano – Oscar Peterson
Tenor Saxophone – Flip Phillips (#2), Paul Quinichette (#4-5, 7-9)
Trumpet – Charlie Shavers (#1-2, 10-12), Joe Newman (#4-6, 8-9)
Vocals – Billie Holiday


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: