Skip to content

Bill Evans Trio – Portrait in Jazz [Remastered] (1960/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Bill Evans Trio – Portrait in Jazz [Remastered] (1960/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:24 minutes | 1,51 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Bookelt, Front Cover | © Riverside

Considered a pivotal album in jazz, this 1960 release from pianist Bill Evans marked the debut of his classic but short-lived trio, bassist Scott LaFaro and drummer Paul Motian. Tragically, LaFaro would die in a car accident less than two years after Portrait In Jazz was recorded, plunging Evans into a deep depression that kept him away from music entirely for many months.

“… gets you every which way. At its least great, it is merely brilliant … what makes Evans extra-extra-special is the way his playing drags you in and shares the vulnerability at its core. Oh, the humanity!” – MOJO

“… one of the great masterpieces of modern music, presenting the pianist’s new trio with the young, phenomenal bassist Scott LaFaro … it seemed to Evans that he had found his ultimate trio, with a bassist that could play with an equal level of technique and imagination as the leader and his drummer, Motian, who had already been playing with the pianist for a number of years … a must have.” – All About Jazz


1. Come Rain Or Shine 03:24
2. Autumn Leaves 06:02
3. Witchcraft 04:35
4. When I Fall In Love 05:01
5. Peri’s Scope 03:17
6. What Is This Thing Called Love? 04:37
7. Spring Is Here 05:08
8. Some Day My Prince Will Come 04:56
9. Blue In Green 05:24

Bill Evans, piano
Scott LaFaro, bass
Paul Motian, drums


%d bloggers like this: