Bill Cunliffe – The Blues & The Abstract Truth: Take 2 (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 4, 2022)

Bill Cunliffe – The Blues & The Abstract Truth: Take 2 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 48:26 minutes | 533 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 2xHD

On this 2008 release, Grammy-nominated pianist, composer and arranger Bill Cunliffe doesn’t so much reinvent a modern jazz classic as open it up for incisive interpretation. Working with clean, uncluttered arrangements and a stellar nine-piece cast of improvisers, Cunliffe explores Oliver Nelson’s beloved 1961 Impulse! album The Blues and the Abstract Truth. Recreating the original running order, this tribute is packed with inventive takes realized by guests including Terrell Stafford on trumpet, Jeff Clayton and Bob Sheppard on saxophones and trombonist Andy Martin. Cunliffe fleshes out the tracklist with a couple of his own compositions, written in the spirit of Nelson’s iconic recording.

“Five Stars … an excellent vehicle for a 21st century consideration … Cunliffe creatively uses his dense arsenal of arranging talents on this project … rather than simply replicating a masterpiece, (he) chooses to project this musical light through a different prism, one that is equally forward-looking and traditional … Cunliffe assembles a crack outfit, somewhere between little and big band and proceeds to record the finest disc released this year.” – All About Jazz

“… revisits, for purposes of interpretation, a consensus masterpiece … Cunliffe wisely walks a fine line. His new arrangements do not radically alter Nelson’s music, but rather offer subtle shifts in harmonic and rhythmic perspective … Cunliffe’s personalization of Stolen Moments, like this whole project, is revealing and valid … Cunliffe shares with Nelson a commitment to charts that sets up inspired blowing. Saxophonists (Jeff) Clayton and Bob Sheppard and trumpeter Terell Stafford respond with some of their most creative recent work on record, volatile (Sheppard), aggressive (Stafford) and free (Clayton).” –

1. Bill Cunliffe – Stolen Moments (07:03)
2. Bill Cunliffe – Hoe-Down (04:45)
3. Bill Cunliffe – Cascades (04:50)
4. Bill Cunliffe – Yearnin’ (07:04)
5. Bill Cunliffe – Butch and Butch (04:38)
6. Bill Cunliffe – Teenie’s Blues (06:23)
7. Bill Cunliffe – Port Authority (06:26)
8. Bill Cunliffe – Mary Lou’s Blues (07:14)

Bill Cunliffe, piano
Terell Stafford, trumpet
Jeff Clayton, alto saxophone
Andy Martin, trombone
Bob Sheppard, tenor, soprano saxophone
Brian Scanlon, alto saxophone
Larry Lunetta, trumpet
Tom Warrington, bass
Mark Ferber, drums


%d bloggers like this: