Big Wreck – Grace Street (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 4, 2022)

Big Wreck – Grace Street (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:10 minutes | 1,48 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © New Rounder

Canadian multi-platinum-selling rockers Big Wreck return with Grace Street, an album that continues to build on the creative momentum of their two previous JUNO Award-nominated releases, Ghosts and Albatross. Featuring guitar virtuoso and lead-singer Ian Thornley, and co-produced by Garth Richardson (Rage Against the Machine, Red Hot Chili Peppers), the sonic diversity on Grace Street is indeed stunning. Heavy grooving tracks such as lead-off single ‘One Good Piece of Me’ and ‘Digging In’ rub shoulders with the atmospheric ‘A Speedy Recovery’ and the epic seven-minute instrumental ‘Skybunk Marché.’ Other tracks feature added touches, such as Miles Davis-style muted trumpet, wine glasses, a sample of a child’s heartbeat and a Leslie speaker guitar solo recorded on a mountainside adjacent to Richardson’s B.C. studio.

The Canadian-American alt-prog collective’s fifth full-length outing, Grace Street delivers a heady mix of the accessible and the labyrinthine; a smartly structured, skillfully executed set of left-field radio hits with cosmic aspirations. Anchored by Ian Thornley’s mellifluous voice, which pairs the elastic falsetto of Coldplay’s Chris Martin with the seismic power of Peter Gabriel, the 13-track LP, despite its nearly 70-minute runtime, never forgets that strong songwriting is the fulcrum on which even the most adventurous run or clever time or key change finds equilibrium. Whether it’s the knotty “Tomorrow Down,” with its propulsive backbeat and Floyd-meets-Zeppelin chorus, the funky, Stones-ian “You Don’t Even Know,” the goose bump-inducing acoustic ballad “Useless,” or the ripping lead single “One Good Piece of Me,” the latter of which is a perfect rendering of soaring alt-rock and Asia-inspired pop smarts, Grace Street has a little something for everyone.

01. Big Wreck – It Comes As No Surprise (04:17)
02. Big Wreck – One Good Piece Of Me (03:55)
03. Big Wreck – Tomorrow Down (04:37)
04. Big Wreck – You Don’t Even Know (03:51)
05. Big Wreck – Useless (05:17)
06. Big Wreck – A Speedy Recovery (07:37)
07. Big Wreck – Motionless (05:31)
08. Big Wreck – Digging In (05:03)
09. Big Wreck – The Receiving End (03:21)
10. Big Wreck – Floodgates (05:32)
11. Big Wreck – The Arborist (05:46)
12. Big Wreck – Skybunk Marché (07:02)
13. Big Wreck – All My Fears On You (06:14)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: