Biffy Clyro – A Celebration Of Endings (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 3, 2022)

Biffy Clyro – A Celebration Of Endings (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:20 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Warner Records

A Celebration of Endings is the upcoming ninth studio album by Scottish alternative rock band Biffy Clyro. It was produced by Rich Costey and is scheduled for release on 14 August 2020.

The band confirmed they were working on new material in an NME interview in July 2019, having released their soundtrack album Balance, Not Symmetry a few months earlier. Another NME interview in October 2019 confirmed the release of the album, with the working title Opus 8, for the ‘first half of next year’.

The first single, “Instant History”, was released on 20 February 2020, and first played on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show.

Following 2019’s ambitious soundtrack Balance, Not Symmetry, Scotland’s Biffy Clyro return with their ninth studio album, 2020’s brightly attenuated A Celebration of Endings. The album again finds them working with producer Rich Costey, who’d previously helmed 2016’s Ellipsis and who has worked with similarly inventive indie rock luminaries like Muse, Fiona Apple, and Supergrass, among others. Since their emergence as a wiry post-grunge outfit in the early 2000s, Biffy Clyro have matured into a reliably consistent power trio known for their prog-inflected anthems that balance pop hooks with kinetically aggressive rock arrangements. It’s a sound they brought to fruition on 2009’s Only Revolutions and one which they’ve continued to hone. In a post-millennial streaming world of individualized tracks, Biffy Clyro are somewhat of a throwback to the album-oriented alt rock of the ’80s and ’90s. Which is to say that while there are stand-out songs here, not every track is meant to play like an immediately gratifying three-minute earworm. There are those kinds of cuts here, including the propulsively galloping “Weird Leisure,” with its crackling guitar leads and Queen-like harmonized falsetto backing vocals. Equally compelling is the rollicking “Tiny Indoor Fireworks,” with its head-rush chorus about conquering obstacles, real or imagined, in which frontman Simon Neil sings, “I fire it up then blow it out/I build it up then tear it down/Summit the ocean, scale the lake/And I’ll pray for the better days.” Primarily though, on tracks like “The Champ,” “End Of,” and “The Pink Limit,” they take a more sonically circuitous route, indulging in pummeling guitar riffage, off-kilter drum grooves, and Teutonic fuzz-tone bass bombast. There are also more languid moments as they expand their sound with orchestral flourishes, as on “Space” and the acoustic ballad “Opaque.” Ultimately, A Celebration of Endings fits with Biffy Clyro’s long-standing knack for combining stadium-sized rock uplift with an undercurrent of wry post-punk thrills. – Matt Collar

1-1. Biffy Clyro – North Of No South (04:05)
1-2. Biffy Clyro – The Champ (03:37)
1-3. Biffy Clyro – Weird Leisure (04:08)
1-4. Biffy Clyro – Tiny Indoor Fireworks (03:15)
1-5. Biffy Clyro – Worst Type of Best Possible (03:50)
1-6. Biffy Clyro – Space (03:55)
1-7. Biffy Clyro – End Of (04:37)
1-8. Biffy Clyro – Instant History (03:30)
1-9. Biffy Clyro – The Pink Limit (03:54)
1-10. Biffy Clyro – Opaque (04:07)
1-11. Biffy Clyro – Cop Syrup (06:16)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: