Skip to content

Berliner Philharmoniker – Vadim Repin and Eivind Gullberg Jensen 2010 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

“He plays and plays and plays, always at the highest level. … The sparks fly, the world tremors, and lava flows voluptuously from the volcano,” as the Frankfurter Rundschau wrote in 2010 about the Russian violinist Vadim Repin, who made a guest appearance shortly afterwards with the Berliner Philharmoniker performing Sofia Gubaidulina’s Offertorium. At his side was the young Norwegian Eivind Gullberg Jensen, who also conducted Sibelius’s First Symphony.

Gullberg Jensen, chief conductor of the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, made his first appearance at the conductor’s stand with the Berliner Philharmoniker in this concert. A particular challenge of this concert was the wide-ranging expressive spectrum of the evening’s programme. Sofia Gubaidulina’s Offertorium is – notwithstanding several electrifying passages for the soloist – a contemplative work which both conceptually and thematically looks back to Bach’s The Musical Offering. Sibelius’s First Symphony is, on the other hand, a work of unrestrained emotion, with Scandinavian colours merging with Tchaikovsky-inspired expressiveness.

09 Oct 2010



Sofia Gubaidulina
Offertorium, concerto for violin and orchestra (39 min.)
Vadim Repin Violin

Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 1 in E minor, op. 39 (43 min.)

Eivind Gullberg Jensen and Vadim Repin in conversation with Sarah Willis (16 min.)


%d bloggers like this: