Skip to content

Berliner Philharmoniker – Memorial concert for Claudio Abbado with Simon Rattle and Frank Peter Zimmermann 2014 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

In this concert from May 2014, the Berliner Philharmoniker remember their former chief conductor Claudio Abbado who died 4 months earlier on 20 January. In remembrance of this sad loss, Frank Peter Zimmermann plays Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto in G major without conductor. In the second part of the concert, Sir Simon Rattle performs Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7.

The Berliner Philharmoniker’s statement on the death of Claudio Abbado: “The Berliner Philharmoniker mourn the loss of an extraordinary musician and man: His love of music and his insatiable curiosity were an inexhaustible source of inspiration for the musicians of the orchestra and shaped our work together ever since his first concerts with the orchestra in 1966. The Berliner Philharmoniker are proud to be able to include him among their chief conductors and to be a part of his musical heritage. His death is an infinitely heavy loss for all musicians. The Berliner Philharmoniker bow before Claudio Abbado in deep love and gratitude, and dedicate this concert to his memory.”

17 May 2014
In memory of Claudio Abbado



Franz Schubert
Rosamunde, incidental music, D 797: No. 5 Entr’acte (9 min.)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 3 in G major, K. 216 (26 min.)
Frank Peter Zimmermann Violin

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 7 in E major (73 min.)

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker remember Claudio Abbado (15 min.)


%d bloggers like this: