Skip to content

Berliner Philharmoniker – “Late Night” concert with Simon Rattle and Martin Lohr 2013 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

A first glimpse at this programme is sure to elicit a grin: the Overture to “The Flying Dutchman”, as sight-read by a second-rate spa ensemble at the fountain at 7 am”. And when you hear this musical party piece by Paul Hindemith, the joke seems boundless: with subtle irony, but also with a thoroughly earthy sense of humour, the composer takes on the cult-like adulation accorded the Bayreuth master. This amusing piece is by no means a parody of Wagner’s music, but rather – as the title suggests – it pokes fun at the arrangement craze of past times as well as at shoddy musicianship, a most rare commodity in the Philharmonie.

Musical surprises – masterminded by Sir Simon Rattle – and high spirits are thus guaranteed in the late hours. Hindemith’s works generally seem a good fit for the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Late Nights: following up Kammermusik No. 1, performed on 15 December 2012, Kammermusik No. 3 is also on this programme. The soloist in what is essentially a little concerto for cello and chamber orchestra is the Philharmoniker’s principal cellist Martin Löhr.

The programme is rounded off by Witold Lutosławski’s Preludes and Fugue for 13 solo strings – a composition that proves two things: that modern music can be extremely exciting and that each and every member of the Berliner Philharmoniker has got what it takes for a solo career.

13 Apr 2013
Late Night at the Philharmonie


Paul Hindemith
Ouvertüre zum “Fliegenden Holländer”, wie sie eine schlechte Kurkapelle morgens um 7 am Brunnen vom Blatt spielt for string quartet (10 min.)
Paul Hindemith
Kammermusik No. 3, op. 36 no. 2, “Cello Concerto” (21 min.)
Martin Löhr Cello

Witold Lutosławski
Preludes and Fugue for 13 solo strings (26 min.)


%d bloggers like this: