Skip to content

Berliner Philharmoniker – “Late Night” concert with Simon Rattle and Katia and Marielle Labèque 2013 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

Leonard Bernstein is said to have remarked that, for him, every kind of music was serious. And indeed, the legendary conductor-composer-pianist-TV lecturer experimented in every possible style, mediating between Broadway, jazz, the avant-garde and the classics. In Prelude, Fugue and Riffs – a stroke of genius that shifts between polyrhythmic structures à la Stravinsky and the strains of a big band – he tackled the tricky rhythms of Latin American music. The work was commissioned by the famous jazz clarinetist Woody Herman who we can also thank for Igor Stravinsky’s Ebony Concerto. He commissioned the work from the Russian composer in 1945, a time when he was working very intensively with jazz styles. His Ebony Concerto is considered the most successful example of the synthesis of blues and symphonic music.

The works of Osvaldo Golijov – described by the New York Times as a “musical alchemist” who “conjures up new worlds” – are also marked by the most diverse influences, including klezmer, tango and jazz. One of the most successful composers of his generation, Golijov often works with Gonzalo Grau, 2011 recipient of the European Composers’ Prize of the city of Berlin, who plays numerous instruments and, as producer, composer and arranger, also combines varied musical genres.

In the Philharmoniker’s Late Night concert, these musical “crossovers” Golijov and Grau are in the hands of Katia and Marielle Labèque, whose telepathically connected playing has made them one of the world’s foremost duos. In their late evening programme, they appear together with Sir Simon Rattle and members of the Berliner Philharmoniker. The clarinet soloist is Andreas Ottensamer.

21 Dec 2013
Late Night at the Philharmonie



Igor Stravinsky
Ebony Concerto for solo-clarinet and jazz-ensemble (11 min.)
Andreas Ottensamer Clarinet

Osvaldo Golijov
Nazareno for 2 pianos and orchestra (arr. by Gonzalo Grau) (30 min.)
Katia Labèque piano, Marielle Labèque piano

Leonard Bernstein
Prelude, Fugue and Riffs (11 min.)
Andreas Ottensamer Clarinet


%d bloggers like this: