Skip to content

Berliner Philharmoniker – Christian Thielemann conducts Beethoven’s “Eroica” 2015 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

For these concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Christian Thielemann programmed three orchestral works that refer to literary or mythological figures in completely different ways. There’s Hans Werner Henze’s orchestral piece Sebastian im Traum, premiered in 2005, based on a poem by Georg Trakl. As the composer himself notes, his music tries to “follow the traces of the poet’s words (as someone with a movie camera tries to capture the course of events or as another perhaps takes down the communication of subject matter in shorthand)”. The piece, to which Henze gave the subtitle Salzburg Night Music, is full of allusions “to the rustic Baroque, to the biblical, to the wooden crucifix, to the nearness of death, to the moonlight, to Traklish evening sonatas”.

This concert also includes two works that refer to the legends of the ancient world: Franz Liszt’s symphonic poem Orpheus, composed precisely 150 years before Henze’s composition, and Ludwig van Beethoven’s Eroica, bearing witness to the composer’s grappling with a symbolic figure of the European enlightenment: Prometheus. It was no coincidence that Beethoven based the finale of his Third Symphony, originally titled “Bonaparte”, on a melody from his ballet music The Creatures of Prometheus, which premiered in 1801: for – as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe later remarked – Napoleon also brought to mankind “light: a moral enlightenment.”

17 Jan 2015


Franz Liszt
Orpheus, Symphonic Poem No. 4 (13 min.)
Hans Werner Henze
Sebastian im Traum for large orchestra (20 min.)
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, op. 55 “Eroica” (56 min.)

Christian Thielemann in conversation with Amadeus Heutling (27 min.)


%d bloggers like this: