Skip to content

Berg, Webern & Schonberg – Chamber Music – Belcea Quartet (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Berg, Webern & Schonberg – Chamber Music – Belcea Quartet (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:19:24 minutes | 2,69 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Aparté Music
Recorded: 14-17 November 2014, 3-7 March & 14-17 May 2015 At The Britten Studio, Snape (Aldenburgh Music)

With a complete recording of the Beethoven quartets that caused a stir and enchanted concert halls everywhere, the Belcea Quartet is henceforth considered one of the finest quartets in the world. ‘The principle characteristic of their playing is […] intensity,’ wrote BBC Music Magazine in 2013.
With this new recording, the Quartet tackles another summit of chamber music: the Second Viennese School. With their passion and technical abilities, this breathtaking music, which drastically changed the history of music, rings out in all its force and mystery.

On the Belceas’ disc, the [Berg] Lyric Suite fidgets at the centre of a Second Viennese School primer. The [Webern] Langsamer Satz is slow only according to the clock, nervous and more dissonant than usual, in expressive terms – there are no wrong notes – with an acute sense of timing as, at the movement’s halfway stage (4’40”), Webern looks back on himself and this voluptuous dream of C major with mingled nostalgia and regret. In the Five Movements, Op 5, the Belceas’ muted, breathless approach is no less effective than the extrovert technical accomplishment and timbral extremes of the LaSalle Quartet, and in the slow second and fourth movements, when they contrive to play on the very edge of audibility, more to the point. Their [Schoenberg] Verklärte Nacht bucks the trend of recent slow and solemn performances – the Achilles heel of the orchestration being that it draws the piece closer to Metamorphosen than Erwartung – and is fitted closely to Dehmel’s lascivious storyline. –Gramophone


Anton von Webern (1883-1945)
1 Langsamer Satz für Streichquartett 00:09:19
Fünf Sätze für Streichquartett, Op. 5
2 I. Heftig bewegt 00:02:39
3 II. Sehr langsam 00:02:43
4 III. Sehr lebhaft 00:00:42
5 IV. Sehr langsam 00:01:50
6 V. In zarter Bewegung 00:03:48

Alban Berg (1885-1935)
Lyrische Suite
7 I. Allegretto gioviale 00:03:11
8 II. Andante amoroso 00:06:24
9 III. Allegro Misterioso 00:03:04
10 IV. Adagio appassionato 00:06:28
11 V. Presto delirando 00:04:29
12 VI. Largo desolato 00:07:04

Arnold Schönberg (1874-1951)
Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4
13 I. Sehr langsam 00:06:07
14 II. Breiter 00:05:59
15 III. Schwer betont 00:02:21
16 IV. Sehr breit und langsam 00:09:13
17 V. Sehr ruhig 00:04:03

Belcea Quartet:
Corina Belcea, violin
Axel Schacher, violin
Krzysztof Chorzelski, viola
Antoine Lederlin, cello
Nicolas Bone, 2nd viola #13-17
Antônio Meneses, 2nd cello #13-17


%d bloggers like this: