Skip to content

Benoit Delbecq – Dice Thrown (2002) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Benoit Delbecq – Dice Thrown (2002)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 53:14 minutes | 994 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Songlines

Five years after their first collaboration, French pianist Benoit Delbecq and Canadian clarinetist François Houle team up on this 2002 release which features pieces for piano or prepared piano and clarinets (sometimes two played simultaneously) and a solo improvisation by each musician. Composition and improvisation flow together into a dreamlike continuum where jazz and new music intersect.

The sound Francois Houle gets from his clarinet is so beautiful you wish you could squirrel it away, hide it from your friends, so you can have it all to yourself. Houle’s lovely tone is in full force here … (his) sound folds rather well into Delbecq’s abstract, airy and rarefied style … their duets are filled with playful, coy unison lines and melodies that are as fresh and sharp as a mint.

01. Shaw (5:26)
02. Oliveira et la Sybille (5:45)
03. Ezerville (7:45)
04. Bogolandes (5:30)
05. C-Strang (3:24)
06. Apnésie (8:18)
07. Dice Talk (5:00)
08. Raccourci (1:27)
09. Trois pour les Gil (5:04)
10. Dés jetés (5:40)


%d bloggers like this: