Skip to content

Benjamin Britten – War Requiem – London Symphony Orchestra, Gianandrea Noseda (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Benjamin Britten – War Requiem – London Symphony Orchestra, Gianandrea Noseda (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:23:48 minutes |  726 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Bowers & Wilkins | Artwork: Front cover | © LSO Live
Recorded: October 2011 at Barbican, London, United Kingdom

Premiered in 1962, the War Requiem is one of the twentieth century’s defining works. Britten was commissioned to write it for the re-dedication of Coventry Cathedral, which was destroyed during the Second World War. Interspersing the Latin mass of the dead with texts by war poet Wilfred Owen he created a work that both mourned the dead and pleaded the futility of war.
‘This is an important issue: Noseda’s judgement of pace is unerring, and the orchestra and chorus simply superb’ (BBC Music Magazine)
‘Noseda offers an account rich in drama and is excellent at knitting together the Latin sections to commentary on war, forging a sense of momentum and cohesion … Noseda paces the music perfectly, drawing playing and singing of great beauty from his forces … this performance is incredibly moving and as fine a modern account as one could wish for … no other orchestra can boast such a pedigree in this work on disc’ (International Record Review)
‘All of the forces, including the star-studded soloists, are excellent, and this 50th-anniversary release of the premiere performance is memorable indeed’ (Audiophile Audition, USA)

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Requiem Aeternam
1 Requiem aeternam chorus 3:37
2 Te decet hymnus boys’ chorus, chorus) 3:00
3 ‘What passing-bells for these who die as cattle?’ (tenor) 2:37
4 Kyrie eleison (chorus) 1:32
Dies Irae
5 Dies irae (chorus) 3:32
6 ‘Bugles sang, saddening the evening air’ (baritone) 2:32
7 Liber scriptus (soprano, chorus) 3:00
8 ‘Out there, we’ve walked quite friendly up to Death’ (tenor, baritone) 1:42
9 Recordare lesu pie (Chorus) 3:51
10 Confutatis maledictis (chorus) 1:05
11 ‘Be slowly lifted up, thou long black arm’ (baritone) 2:10
12 Dies irae (soprano, chorus) 3:00
13 ‘Move him into the sun’ (tenor, soprano, chorus) 4:11
14 Pie lesu Domine (chorus) 1:35
15 Domine lesu Christe (boys’ chorus) 1:18
16 Sed signifer sanctus (chorus) 1:51
17 ‘So Abram rose, and clave the wood’ (baritone, tenor) 3:22
18 Hostias et preces tibi (tenor, baritone, boys’ chorus, chorus) 2:40
19 Sanctus (soprano, chorus) 7:05
20 ‘After the blast of lightning from the East’ (baritone) 3:34
Agnus Dei
21 ‘One ever hangs where shelled roads part’/Agnus Dei (tenor, chorus) 3:10
Libera Me
22 Libera me (soprano, chorus) 8:02
23 ‘It seemd that out of battle I escaped’ (tenor) 2:50
24 ‘None’, said the other’ (baritone) 6:50
25 ‘Let us sleep now…’ / In paradisum (tenor, baritone, soprano, boys’chorus, chorus) 4:26
26 Requiescant in pace (chorus) 1:16

London Symphony Orchestra
Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
Simon Keenlyside, bass
Sabina Cvilak, soprano
Ian Bostridge, tenor
Choir of Eltham College
London Symphony Chorus


%d bloggers like this: