Skip to content

Benedikt Jahnel Trio – The Invariant (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Benedikt Jahnel Trio – The Invariant (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:40 minutes | 914 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM Records GmbH
Recorded: March 2016, Rainbow Studio, Oslo

The trio with Spanish bassist Antonio Miguel and Canadian drummer Owen Howard has been an “invariant” in the life of Berlin based pianist Benedikt Jahnel. Hence the album title:The Invariant is issued as the group goes on tour to celebrate its tenth anniversary as a working unit. Opening track “Further Consequences” picks up where the critically-lauded Equilibriumleft off, extending ideas about pianistic patterning and textural playing. Like many of Jahnel’s tunes an odd-metred piece, it also contains elements of swing in its solo sections, as the pianist reacts to the implications of Owen Howard’s drumming. A distinctive and original pianist, Jahnel is also a prolific writer andThe Invariant pools the best of many pieces he has composed, road-tested and revised in the last five years, incorporating the dynamic responses of his trio partners into the fabric of the musical material.

1 Further Cosequences 5:49
2 The Circuit 5:10
3 Mirrors 9:31
4 Mono Lake 3:48
5 Part Of The Game 6:44
6 For The Encore 5:39
7 Interpolation One 3:55
8 En Passant 4:50

Benedikt Jahnel, piano
Antonio Miguel, double bass
Owen Howard, drums


%d bloggers like this: