Skip to content

Beck – Sea Change (2002/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Beck – Sea Change (2002/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 52:22 minutes | 1,73 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Interscope

Recorded with legendary producer Nigel Godrich in 2002, Sea Change remains one of the most popular and critically acclaimed albums of the 2000s. Rolling Stone Magazine declared it Album of the Year in 2002 and it reached #8 on Billboard’s Top 200 chart. The music marries elements of folk, country, rock and electronic music with highly emotional lyrical content.

Beck has always been known for his ever-changing moods — particularly since they often arrived one after another on one album, sometimes within one song — yet the shift between the neon glitz of Midnite Vultures and the lush, somber Sea Change is startling, and not just because it finds him in full-on singer/songwriter mode, abandoning all of the postmodern pranksterism of its predecessor. What’s startling about Sea Change is how it brings everything that’s run beneath the surface of Beck’s music to the forefront, as if he’s unafraid to not just reveal emotions, but to elliptically examine them in this wonderfully melancholy song cycle. If, on most albums prior to this, Beck’s music was a sonic kaleidoscope — each song shifting familiar and forgotten sounds into colorful, unpredictable combinations — this discards genre-hopping in favor of focus, and the concentration pays off gloriously, resulting in not just his best album, but one of the greatest late-night, brokenhearted albums in pop. This, as many reviews and promotional interviews have noted, is indeed a breakup album, but it’s not a bitter listen; it has a wearily beautiful sound, a comforting, consoling sadness. His words are often evocative, but not nearly as evocative as the music itself, which is rooted equally in country-rock (not alt-country), early-’70s singer/songwriterism, and baroque British psychedelia. With producer Nigel Godrich, Beck has created a warm, enveloping sound, with his acoustic guitar supported by grand string arrangements straight out of Paul Buckmaster, eerie harmonies, and gentle keyboards among other subtler touches that give this record a richness that unveils more with each listen. Surely, some may bemoan the absence of the careening, free-form experimentalism of Odelay, but Beck’s gifts as a songwriter, singer, and musician have never been as brilliant as they are here. As Sea Change is playing, it feels as if Beck singing to you alone, revealing painful, intimate secrets that mirror your own. It’s a genuine masterpiece in an era with too damn few of them. – AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 The Golden Age 4:36
2 Paper Tiger 4:35
3 Guess I’m Doing Fine 4:49
4 Lonesome Tears 5:37
5 Lost Cause 3:47
6 End Of The Day 5:03
7 It’s All In Your Mind 3:05
8 Round The Bend 5:15
9 Already Dead 2:58
10 Sunday Sun 4:44
11 Little One 4:26
12 Side Of The Road 3:23

Beck Hansen – vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals, electric guitar, percussion, synth, glockenspiel, banjo, harmonica, keyboards, piano, string arrangement, wurlitzer
Smokey Hormel – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic slide guitar, percussion, background vocals, bamboo saxophone, megamouth, piano, tape recorder
Justin Meldal-Johnsen – electric bass, upright bass, percussion, background vocals, glockenspiel, electric guitar, piano
Roger Joseph Manning Jr. – clavinet, synth, background vocals, percussion, piano, wurlitzer, banjo, Indian banjo, glockenspiel, harmonium
Joey Waronker – drums, percussion, background vocals, beatbox drums
James Gadson – drums
Jason Falkner – electric guitar, background vocals, percussion
David Campbell – string arrangement, conducting
Nigel Godrich – keyboards, percussion, string treatment, synth
Suzie Katayama – cello 


%d bloggers like this: