Skip to content

Basil Poledouris – Conan, the Barbarian – Philipp Pelster (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Basil Poledouris – Conan, the Barbarian – Philipp Pelster (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz  | Time – 01:04:25 minutes | 518 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: eClassical | © Naxos Rights
Recorded: Glatter-Götz/Rosales organ at Claremont United Church of Christ, Claremont, California, USA, on 19th and 20th May, 2014

Director and co-writer John Milius’s intention with the 1982 adventure Conan the Barbarian was to create an opera in the form of film. With its power, energy and moments of tenderness, Basil Poledouris’s music supports the storyline in a similar way to a work written for the stage. The superb Glatter-Götz/Rosales organ in Claremont, California was designed to inspire creativity and innovation, and Philipp Pelster’s vision in making a complete film-score transcription especially for the unique possibilities of this instrument transforms the orchestral colours of the original to generate a completely new and richly rewarding musical experience.

The idea of creating an opera in the form of a film was the vision of John Milius, the resulting Conan the Barbarian then having the music of Basil Poledouris added. …Pelster is obviously having a ball putting through its paces this 1998 instrument installed in the Claremont United Church of Christ in California. From the mighty opening for the Anvil of Crom and The Mountain of Power, to the virtually inaudible track, Alantean Sword, the disc’s wide dynamic range is awesome. Pelster makes a plausible replica of a fairground organ in the section Theology/Civilization, and the solemnity of a church organ in Conan Leaves Valeria, though our local Ladies Institute would find The Orgy a very tame affair. Film buffs, and those looking for recorded excellence, will be dashing out to buy the disc… © 2015 David’s Review Corner

Basil Poledouris (1945-2006)
Conan the Barbarian (arr. P. Pelster for organ)
1 Anvil of Crom 02:44
2 Riddle of Steel / Riders of Doom 05:57
3 The Gift of Fury 03:40
4 Column of Sadness / Wheel of Pain 03:52
5 Pit Fights 02:51
6 Alantean Sword 04:12
7 Theology / Civilization 03:31
8 The Wifeing 02:29
9 Conan Leaves Valeria / The Search 06:09
10 The Mountain of Power 03:39
11 Recovery 02:31
12 The Kitchen 02:27
13 The Orgy 04:27
14 Funeral Pyre 04:49
15 Battle of the Mounds 05:16
16 Orphans of the Doom / The Awakening 05:51

Philipp Pelster, organ


%d bloggers like this: