Skip to content

Bangkok Next Project – Bangkok Next Project (2018/2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Bangkok Next Project – Bangkok Next Project (2018/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 43:27 minutes | 549 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Cool-Stuff Record

Bangkok Next Project is the brainchild of Italian composer Bruno Brugnano – having now lived and worked in Thailand for many years, he wanted to do an album with some of the friends he’d met along the way. And his friends just happen to be great musicians, so Bangkok Next Project is all about the connections and friendships that have formed in Bangkok. All of these musicians have passed through the bustling city at some point in time – all to have crossed paths with Bruno.

While some have moved on, the wonders of modern technology have enabled them to keep in touch and also produce an album. The album features compositions of Bruno Brugnano and Craig Kickbush (bassist on one of Bruno’s other projects, Bangkok New Trio). In some ways the Bangkok Next Project builds on what the trio does, with an even broader musical palette to draw upon.

It’s truly an international band, representing Italy, U.S.A, Denmark, Australia, Romania, Switzerland, Singapore.

“Uncovering the Truth” is a cool ballad, with a searching melody and sees Jakob Dinesen soaring over the top to conclude the piece. Craig Kickbush features on fretless bass.

“A Kind of Returning” is a latin inspired outing, featuring the Project’s horn section of Chuck Curry and Dinesen – the latter who modulates the tune’s energy at the end to take it somewhere more intense than when it began – one ends up remembering it as a less innocuous piece.

“Never Forget” features Chuck Curry on flugelhorn – a beautiful, bittersweet ballad – Doru Apreotesei paints his impressionistic colours in sympathy.

“Leaving” is a reflective moment with a hopeful bridge – Chuck brings it home on a rocky outro. A big focus of this album is on beautiful melodies, and “Moment in Time” is no exception. This time Bruno is joined by Nick LaFleur on alto and Taurey Butler on piano.

“The Pledge” sees the rhythm section reduce to a trio – Bruno winds his way through the thorny harmonic landscape on guitar synth.

“Apology” is a Craig Kickbush tune whose jewel in the crown is Doro Apreotesei’s solo that begins the second half of the tune. Another harmonically rich piece, augmented by a string arrangement and Silvano Borzacchiello’s masterful empathetic drumming we could see an orchestral album in the future if this is anything to go by.

“Makom” is a groovy African inspired tune, complete with vocal samples – Bruno, Jakob take a solo, followed by the exuberant piano of Jeremy Montiero – a joyous ending and a celebration of the friendships that made this album possible.


1. Bangkok Next Project – Uncovering the Truth
2. Bangkok Next Project – A kind of Returning
3. Bangkok Next Project – Never Forget
4. Bangkok Next Project – Leaving
5. Bangkok Next Project – Moment in Time
6. Bangkok Next Project – The Pledge
7. Bangkok Next Project – Apology
8. Bangkok Next Project – Makom


%d bloggers like this: