Skip to content

Attacca Quartet – Real Life (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Attacca Quartet – Real Life (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:10 minutes | 623 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sony Classical

Sony Classical announce the exclusive signing of the bold, multi-genre, Grammy Award-winning string ensemble, ATTACCA QUARTET, with the release of two albums this year that embody their redefinition of what a string quartet can be. Real Life, a vibrant album that transcends musical boundaries, is out July 9th and available now for preorder. The group’s momentum will continue well into 2021, lining up a second album later this year featuring music by Philip Glass, Arvo Pärt as well as several Renaissance composers – details coming soon.

Melding the worlds of classical and electronic on the forthcoming album, REAL LIFE, today, the Attacca Quartet premiere the album’s lead single and video “Electric Pow Wow Drum.” A powerfully euphoric take on The Halluci Nation’s fan-favorite anthem, the string collective reimagines the track with regal strings wrapped around a tribal stomp – listen and watch the video here.

For Real Life, Attacca Quartet notably worked in the studio with Grammy Award-winning composer, multi-instrumentalist, producer, and Snarky Puppy bandleader Michael League. On the album, the group—Domenic Salerni [violinist], Amy Schroeder [violinist], Nathan Schram [violist], and Andrew Yee [cellist]—re-envision, reshape, and reimagine tracks originally recorded by some of today’s most influential artists in electronic music, including Flying Lotus, Squarepusher, Louis Cole, Anne Müller, Daedelus, and Mid-Air Thief. Many of these producers, as well as guest collaborator TOKiMONSTA, in turn, contributed new layers to Attacca Quartet’s interpretations. Emphasizing the ability to perform all the tracks live as a four-piece, they implemented distortion, plucked and scraped the strings, tapped, and went so far as to reverse the tape itself.

“We thought about what the dream album could be that we hadn’t been able to make until we got this opportunity” says Schram, “and this idea just started to flower; to bring all the different electronic music we listen to, into our string quartet world and to collaborate with a lot of different musicians, particularly Mike League, while using all the possibilities of music technology to make the biggest string quartet album we could. We all dug really deep into our interests and abilities and created an amazing, experimental, rocking, touching album that is Real Life.”


1. Attacca Quartet – Electric Pow Wow Drum
2. Attacca Quartet – Real Life
3. Attacca Quartet – Why?
4. Attacca Quartet – Clock Catcher
5. Attacca Quartet – Remind U
6. Attacca Quartet – Pilgrim Side Eye
7. Attacca Quartet – Xetaka 1
8. Attacca Quartet – Holding Breadth
9. Attacca Quartet – Drifting Circles
10. Attacca Quartet – More Love Less Hate


%d bloggers like this: