Skip to content

Atsushi Sakai – Antoine Forqueray: Pieces de viole (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Atsushi Sakai – Antoine Forqueray: Pièces de viole (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 03:19:12 minutes | 3,86 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Aparté

Each appearance of Atsushi Sakai and Christophe Rousset leaves an unforgettable memory with those who have had the good fortune to hear them commune on stage. Long-standing partners, they now join together for the first time on disc for a composer they worship: the mysterious Antoine Forqueray. Born in 1672 in Paris, he was, with Marin Marais, one of the greatest gambists of all time. Famed for his virtuosic improvisations, he published none of his 300-odd pieces and died in 1745 in Mantes where he had moved in 1731, after having suffered serious financial setbacks, especially in the course of Law’s bankruptcy. Aside from a few handwritten pieces copied in the collections of other composers, Forqueray’s pieces have been lost.

The release of the Pièces de viole, to which the present recording is devoted, is thus the sole important testimony to his oeuvre.

01. Quatrième Suite: I. La Marella
02. Quatrième Suite: II. La Clément
03. Quatrième Suite: III. Sarabande. La D’Aubonne
04. Quatrième Suite: IV. La Bournonville
05. Quatrième Suite: V. La Sainscy
06. Quatrième Suite: VI. Le Carillon de Passy-La Latour
07. Deuxième Suite: I. La Bouron
08. Deuxième Suite: II. La Mandoline
09. Deuxième Suite: III. La Dubreuil
10. Deuxième Suite: IV. La Leclair
11. Deuxième Suite: V. Chaconne. La Buisson

01. Troisième Suite: I. La Ferrand
02. Troisième Suite: II. La Régente
03. Troisième Suite: III. La Tronchin
04. Troisième Suite: IV. La Angrave
05. Troisième Suite: V. La Du Vaucel
06. Troisième Suite: VI. La Eynaud
07. Troisième Suite: VII. Chaconne. La Morangis ou La Plissay
08. Première Suite: I. Allemande. La La Borde
09. Première Suite: II. La Forqueray
10. Première Suite: III. La Cottin
11. Première Suite: IV. La Bellemont
12. Première Suite: V. La Portugaise
13. Première Suite: VI. La Couperin

01. Cinquième suite: I. La Rameau
02. Cinquième suite: II. La Guignon
03. Cinquième suite: III. Sarabande. La Léon
04. Cinquième suite: IV. La Boisson
05. Cinquième suite: V. La Montigni
06. Cinquième suite: VI. La Silva
07. Cinquième suite: VII. Jupiter

Atsushi Sakai, cello
Christophe Rousset, conductor
Marion Martineau, cello


%d bloggers like this: