Skip to content

Asmundsen & Co – Gnus (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Asmundsen & Co – Gnus (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 57:20 minutes | 637 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Losen Records

VIdar Johansen has been one of the finest composers and arrangers in Norwegian jazz since he broke into the jazz scene while still in his teens as a tenor sax player (with an occasional stint at the soprano and the bass clarinet). He has never promoted himself much, but often been part of larger musical unities with other people at the head. And at these settings he has always seized the opportunity to contribute creatively. His creativity also extends to the titles of his songs, which are often quite mysterious and evocative. With this recording, some of the hidden gems of Norwegian jazz composition have come to the surface, songs that have been lost in stacks of handwritten manuscript paper for decades, kept alive only in the memory of a few affectionados. So where does all this leave us? It certainly leaves us with a legacy of great music, and a continuing story of great sound pouring out of Vidar´s saxophones and great ideas forming on his manuscript paper. And it leaves us, his fellow players, with thankfulness for being allowed to contribute to that same magnificent sound! Vidar´s true greatness lies in his personality, the originality of his thoughts and the sheer beauty and warmth of his playing. It is instantly recognisable: the big tone, the phrasing, the necessity of communicating with the audience, the earnestness, crazyness, humor and humanity. And likewise his compositions show a deep connection with the great names of the jazz history: Thelonious Monk, Charles Mingus, Duke Ellington, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, and a lot of others. Vidar is also a fan of 20th century classical music, and has composed several pieces for classical musicians. Vidar Johansen – saxophone, Magnus Aannestad Oseth – trumpet, Rune Klakegg – piano Tine Asmundsen – upright bass, Terje Engen – drums


01. Gnus
02. Her (Aner ikke)
03. Busken Smoul
04. Song for an Absent Piano Player
05. Liten Frostmåler
06. Osckars Drøm
07. In a Dream
08. My Boy


%d bloggers like this: