Skip to content

Arca – KicK iii (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Arca – KicK iii (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:35:38 minutes | 822 MB | Genre: Experimental Electronic, Art Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © XL Recordings

Kick III (stylized as KicK iii) is the sixth studio album by Venezuelan record producer and singer Arca. The album was scheduled to be released on 3 December 2021, but released early on 1 December 2021, through XL Recordings as a continuation to her 2020 record Kick I, and is the third entry in the Kick quintet. Kick II, Kick III, Kick IIII and Kick V are to be released the same week. Kick III has been supported by lead single “Incendio”, and “Electra Rex”. Its cover art was photographed by Frederik Heyman.

Kick III is a psychedelic, reggaeton, cumbia, dance, and electronic noise album. Opener “Bruja” is “a ballroom track, filled with sass and contagious energy”. “Incendio” is an industrial rap song that “showcases Ghersi’s sound design at its most inventive. Noises from passing vehicles get as much space as ballistic percussive clamor, and the rampage makes her shapeshifting vocal delivery—breathless quasi-raps, fiery shouts, childlike snickering—consistently hair-raising” “Rubberneck” is a blend of IDM and operatic pop and contains “punishing industrial thuds” and “a sense of controlled chaos”. “Señorita” is a “glitchy” hip hop-inflected song that functions as the “record’s punchy lyrical centerpiece”. “Electra Rex” is “underpinned by a cavernous trap beat that makes way for syncopated percussions and combines the Greek mythological tragedies of Electra and Oedipus Rex. “Skullqueen “mimicks club-goers going out to catch some fresh air before heading back in the euphoric darkness of Arca’s glitch hop bash”. Album closer “Joya” is a ballad that has been compared to Homogenic-era Björk and “closes iii on a note of all-encompassing peace”

1. Bruja (03:50)
2. Incendio (02:44)
3. Morbo (02:15)
4. Fiera (04:28)
5. Skullqueen (02:33)
6. Electra Rex (02:08)
7. Ripples (02:09)
8. Rubberneck (02:28)
9. Señorita (02:21)
10. My 2 (03:15)
11. Intimate Flesh (03:32)
12. Joya (03:55)


%d bloggers like this: