Skip to content

Aphrodite’s Child – 666 (1972) [Japanese SHM-SACD 2014] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Aphrodite’s Child – 666 (1972) [Japanese SHM-SACD 2014]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:48 minutes | Scans included | 3,17 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,5 GB

666 (The Apocalypse of John, 13/18) is a double album by psychedelic/progressive art rock group Aphrodite’s Child. It was released in 1972, and was the primary vehicle/effort for the Vangelis project. It had a minor Album Oriented Radio hit in “The Four Horsemen”, and the song “Break” was also released. The album was ostensibly an adaptation of Biblical passages from the book of the same name, but was also very experimental in lyrics and composition.

An amazingly bombastic concept album about the Apocalypse of St. John seen as a rock spectacle. Demis Roussos wails the lyrics in a frantically operatic falsetto, while the band pound fiercely through Vangelis’ furiously complex music. It certainly has its moments, but the entire set eventually becomes too overwhelming to sit through.

01. The System
02. Babylon
03. Loud, Loud, Loud
04. The Four Horsemen
05. The Lamb
06. The Seventh Seal
07. Aegian Sea
08. Seven Bowls
09. The Wakening Beast
10. Lament
11. The Marching Beast
12. The Battle Of The Locusts
13. Do It
14. Tribulation
15. The Beast
16. Ofis
17. Seven Trumpets
18. Altamont
19. The Wedding Of The Lamb
20. The Capture Of The Beast
21. oo
22. Hic Et Nunc
23. All The Seats Were Occupied
24. Break

DSD flat transferred from UK original analogue master tapes by Richard Whittaker at FX Copyroom, London, in 2014.
Edited in DSD by Manabu Matsumura at Universal Music Studios, Tokyo, in 2014.



%d bloggers like this: