Skip to content

Anne-Sophie Mutter – Vivaldi: The Four Seasons (1984/1999/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Anne-Sophie Mutter – Vivaldi: The Four Seasons (1984/1999/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:02:54 minutes | 648 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

We’ve grown so accustomed to seeing violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter gracing album covers in her flowing formal gowns that this recording of Vivaldi’s masterpiece may come as a shock to her fans, at least at first glance. Mutter, it appears, has been influenced by Gap culture, looking relaxed and appearing in jeans on the album cover. To coincide with this release, she even released a music video, featuring the Trondheim Soloists and herself performing the glorious work and looking like they’re having a blast. Is this the shape of classical music to come? Let’s hope so. Mutter’s performance here, as usual, is top-notch. The opening movements of Spring sound delightful, the Summer storm sounds frenzied, and during Winter’s second movement, you can practically hear the chill being warded off by a fire. Her impeccable tone is, as usual, gorgeous and the conductorless Trondheims provide a fine, if slightly obscured, accompaniment. Filling out this disc is Tartini’s Sonata in G Minor (better known as The Devil’s Trill), a wonderful piece of baroque violin virtuosity. There have never been so many recordings of Four Seasons available as right now; there really is no definitive version anymore. This one, however, is easy to recommend. –Jason Verlinde

1. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 1. Allegro (03:34)
2. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2. Largo (03:13)
3. Public Domain – 3. Allegro (Danza pastorale) (04:28)
4. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 1. Allegro non molto – Allegro (06:11)
5. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2. Adagio – Presto – Adagio (02:19)
6. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 3. Presto (Tempo impetuoso d’estate) (02:39)
7. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 1. Allegro (Ballo, e canto de’ villanelli) (06:13)
8. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2. Adagio molto (Ubriachi dormienti) (02:59)
9. Trondheim Soloists – 3. Allegro (La caccia) (04:00)
10. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 1. Allegro non molto (03:32)
11. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2. Largo (02:48)
12. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 3. Allegro (03:55)
13. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 1. Larghetto affettuoso (03:49)
14. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2. Allegro (03:24)
15. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 3. Andante – Allegro (01:12)
16. Anne-Sophie Mutter – 4. Allegro assai (08:31)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: