Skip to content

Anne Paceo – Circles (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Anne Paceo – Circles (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 47:26 minutes | 515 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Laborie Jazz

No, Anne Pacéo is not a “jazz drummer” like the others. Nothing surprising then that her fourth album is also … different? With Circles, stylistic borders fade, received ideas crumble and creativity turbines at full throttle! Between songs and instrumental thrusts, telluric rhythms and libertarian breaths, these Circles unfold an organic groove, poetic and inspired. Solidly anchored in the current jazz scene but always eager for “other” collaborations, as was the case with Jeanne Added, Mélissa Laveaux and China Mose, Anne Paceo surrounded herself here with singer Leila Martial, saxophonist Emile Parisien and Tony Paeleman for keyboards. The drummer says it herself, this opus was designed differently. “Circles is the culmination of a long-term success over the last four years. It is the result of learning a new way of thinking about my music and conceiving it. For this record I worked around the theme of circles, loops, the cyclical character of time, things that die and then re-emerge in a new form. Circles is a succession of paintings, ranging from light to dark, from total destitution to bubbling, from internal storms to moments of calm and plenitude. “A palette of feelings that flourishes throughout a disc filled with surprises and highlights.

01. Sunshine (4:09)
02. Today (3:11)
03. Toundra (3:46)
04. Birth and Rebirth (5:00)
05. Tzigane (3:40)
06. Patience (1:40)
07. Myanmar Folk song (4:36)
08. Moons (4:24)
09. Sables (4:25)
10. Polar Night (3:29)
11. Circles (4:45)
12. A Tempestade (4:30)

Anne Paceo – vocals, drums, compositions
Emile Parisien ou Christophe Panzani : saxophones
Leila Martial – vocals
Tony Paeleman – Fender Rhodes, claviers


%d bloggers like this: