Skip to content

Anke Vondung & Christoph Berner – Fin de Siecle – Lieder by Schreker, Schonberg, Zemlinsky, Berg, Mahler (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Anke Vondung & Christoph Berner – Fin de Siècle – Lieder by Schreker, Schönberg, Zemlinsky, Berg, Mahler (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:09:51 minutes | 599 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © CAvi-music

This is the first solo album of the Mezzo Soprano Anke Vondung, who is travelling the world and the most prominent Opera Houses and Concert Halls. Two years ago, inspired by their shared love of Viennese music and visual arts at the turn of the 20th century, Anke and Christoph put together a vocal recital programme featuring lieder by Alban Berg, Arnold Schoenberg, Alexander Zemlinsky and Gustav Mahler.

This recording is based on that programme with the addition of the strikingly expressive early songs of Franz Schreker.

As the investigated the repertoire more closely, they were fascinated to discover the degree of musical and biographical connections the composers shared – the many ways these five composers inspired and had a reciprocal influence on one another. The music of Gustav Mahler was the focal point around which all subsequent “Viennese” compositions were centered; therefore they chose to place Mahler’s songs at the end of their selection.

The performers on this disc say: ‘Over a century ago – in Vienna in 1913 – Schoenberg conducted a concert featuring Mahler’s Songs on the Death of Children and Zemlinsky’s Four Orchestral Songs on poems by Maeterlinck, an evening that went down in history as the Skandalkonzert. Over a century later, we are glad to note that this music is now acknowledged as an integral part of the great European musical legacy.’

01. Unendliche Liebe
02. Frühling
03. Wohl fühl’ ich, wie das Leben rinnt
04. Die Liebe als Recensentin
05. Lenzzauber
06. Erwartung
07. Schenk mir einen goldenen Kamm
08. Erhebung
09. Waldsonne
10. Die drei Schwestern
11. Die Mädchen mit den verbundenen Augen
12. Lied der Jungfrau
13. Als ihr Geliebter schied
14. Und kehrte er einst heim
15. Sie kam zum Schloss gegangen
16. Schlafen, schlafen
17. Schlafend trägt man mich
18. Nun, ich der Riesen stärksten
19. Warm die Lüfte
20. Frühlingsmorgen
21. Verlor’ne Müh’
22. Nicht wiedersehen!
23. Erinnerung
24. Rheinlegendchen
25. Wer hat das Liedlein erdacht
26. Aus! Aus!

Berg, Alban (1885-1935)
Mahler, Gustav (1860-1911)
Schoenberg, Arnold (1874-1951)
Schreker, Franz (1878-1934)
Zemlinsky, Alexander von (1871-1942)

Anke Vondung, mezzo-soprano
Christoph Berner, piano


%d bloggers like this: