Skip to content

Anja Lechner – Lontano (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Anja Lechner – Lontano (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:53 minutes | 978 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

ECM is, without a doubt, the record label that enjoys blurring the lines between jazz and classical the most. So it’s hardly surprising that we find Anja Lechner and François Couturier on this album. Throughout Lontano they sculpt a sound with delicacy and finesse, using their respective experiences, travels, education and imagination to craft a superb borderless score. The German cellist and French pianist already worked together in 2014, linking East and West by revisiting themes by Gurdjieff, Komitas and Mompou. They also collaborated in the Tarkovsky Quartet and in the Il Pergolese project. Lontano’s repertoire is mainly original aside from a few glimpses of Johann Sebastian Bach, Henri Dutilleux, Giya Kancheli and Anouar Brahem (whose Vague – E la nave va was written with Couturier in 2006). Despite the mountain of references, Lechner and Couturier speak a language that is truly their own. It’s like a small chamber symphony nourished by classical, contemporary, folk and jazz music, as well as cinema and literature. Pure grace. – Marc Zisman


1. Anja Lechner – Praeludium
2. Anja Lechner – Arpeggio
3. Anja Lechner – Gratitude
4. Anja Lechner – Alfonsina y el mar
5. Anja Lechner – Flow
6. Anja Lechner – Memory of a Melody
7. Anja Lechner – Solar I
8. Anja Lechner – Solar II
9. Anja Lechner – Shadow
10. Anja Lechner – Miniature 27
11. Anja Lechner – Hymne
12. Anja Lechner – Vague / E la nave va
13. Anja Lechner – Lontano
14. Anja Lechner – Tryptic
15. Anja Lechner – Prélude en berceuse
16. Anja Lechner – Postludium


%d bloggers like this: