Skip to content

Anita Baker – Rapture (1986/2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Anita Baker – Rapture (1986/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 37:25 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Atlantic Records
Recorded: 1985–1986, Tracks 1 to 5, 7, 8: Recorded at Yamaha R&D Studio, Glendale, CA. With additional recording at United Sound Systems, Inc., Detroit Mich. Mixed at Yamaha R&D Studio. Track 6: Recorded & mixed at Music Grinder Recording Studio, Los Angeles, CA. Re-mixed at Yamaha R&D Studio.

Chart History/Awards
– Reached #2 on Billboard‘s Top R&B Albums.
– Reached #11 on the Billboard 200.
– “No One In The World,” “Same Ole Love (365 Days A Week),” “Sweet Love” and “Caught Up In The Rapture” reached the Top 10 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles charts.
– Won the GRAMMY® for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance.
– “Sweet Love” won the GRAMMY® for Best R&B Song.

Rapture is the sophomore album by eight-time GRAMMY® Award-winning vocal diva Anita Baker. Her breakthrough hit has sold over eight million copies worldwide and earned the vocalist two GRAMMY® Awards. On Rapture, Baker combines elegant jazz with pop and gospel-inflected soul. The album includes the four Top 10 R&B Singles “No One In The World,” “Same Ole Love (365 Days A Week),” “Caught Up In The Rapture” and “Sweet Love.” This five-time Platinum masterpiece is among Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s.”

Though Anita Baker got some airplay out of The Songstress, that promising solo debut didn’t bring her financial security. In fact, Baker was earning her living as a legal secretary in her native Detroit when she signed with Elektra in the mid-’80s. Elektra gave her a strong promotional push, and the equally superb Rapture became the megahit that The Songstress should have been. To its credit, Elektra made her a major star by focusing on Baker’s strong point — romantic but gospel-influenced R&B/pop ballads and “slow jams,” sometimes with jazz overtones — and letting her be true to herself. Rapture gave Baker one moving hit after another, including “Sweet Love,” “Caught up in the Rapture,” “Same Ole Love,” and “No One in This World.” Praising Baker in a 1986 interview, veteran R&B critic Steve Ivory asserted, “To me, singers like Anita Baker and Frankie Beverly define what R&B or soul music is all about.” Indeed, Rapture’s tremendous success made it clear that there was still a sizeable market for adult-oriented, more traditional R&B singing. –Alex Henderson

1 Sweet Love 4:26
2 You Bring Me Joy 4:24
3 Caught Up In The Rapture 5:07
4 Been So Long 5:07
5 Mystery 4:56
6 No One In The World 4:10
7 Same Ole Love 4:05
8 Watch Your Step 4:54

Backing Vocals – Alex Brown (tracks: 2, 8), Bunny Hull (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8), Darryl Phinnessee (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 6 to 8), Jim Gilstrap (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8), Lynn Davis (tracks: 6), Natalie Jackson (tracks: 5), Phillip Ingram (tracks: 6), Vesta Williams (tracks: 2, 8)
Bass – David B. Washington (tracks: 3, 5, 8), Freddie Washington (tracks: 1, 2, 7), Jimmy Haslip (tracks: 4), Neil Stubenhaus (tracks: 6)
Drums – Arthur Marbury (tracks: 3, 5), Ricky Lawson (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8)
Guitar – Dean Parks (tracks: 6), Donald Griffin (tracks: 4, 8), Greg Moore (tracks: 1, 2, 7), Michael J. Powell (tracks: 3, 5)
Guitar [Rhythm] – Paul Jackson* (tracks: 6)
Keyboards – Anita Baker (tracks: 8), Sir Gant* (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8), Randy Kerber (tracks: 6), Vernon Fails (tracks: 3, 5)
Percussion – Larry Fratangelo (tracks: 3, 5), Lorenzo Brown (tracks: 3), Paulinho Da Costa (tracks: 1, 2, 6 to 8)
Saxophone – Donald Albright (tracks: 8)
Synthesizer [Overdubs] – Greg Phillinganes (tracks: 6), Paul Chiten (tracks: 6)
Vocals, Backing Vocals – Anita Baker


%d bloggers like this: